Avtex aerial

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by cbrown1360, May 15, 2016.

  1. cbrown1360

    cbrown1360 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Lymington
    My 2 year old Elddis van is fitted with an Avtex Omnidirectional TV/Radio aerial which appears to be next to useless. I've just spent 3 weeks touring the Lake District and Scotland and I've only managed to get a TV signal on a couple of occasions. I know there are hills around but surely the locals don't go without TV. There is an amplifier so I would a expect better result or am I missing a trick?
     
  2. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    9,763
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Do you havean amplifier and plugged in?We get most of ssScotland for free :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Stretford
    The avtex aerial normal has a built in amp, if you have a avtex tv this had a powered output for the aerial look in settings to activate
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    Also you will need to retune your TV pretty much every time you use it.

    Are you doing this?
     
  5. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Our van has this fitted and we struggled. We got a new amplifier made by a third party with gain control and signal strength indicator and it is much better. I can't remember where I for it from though I'm sorry..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. cbrown1360

    cbrown1360 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Lymington
    Yes and yes
     
  7. cbrown1360

    cbrown1360 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Lymington
    Yes - every time we move.
     
  8. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    Have you tried a signal meter, something like this

    http://www.screwfix.com/p/slx-digital-signal-finder/58244

    Just plug it into one of the outputs on your amplifier and then when you adjust the aerial you should see the signal strength.

    If you get nothing registering it could be a dodgy amplifier.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    The omnidirectional doesn't need adjusting but does have to be fitted exactly level.. I only found that out the other day and mine isn't so after Jersey I will have a fiddle and get it done.. I wonder how many others have the same issue.
     
  10. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,878
    Likes Received:
    2,699
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Unfortunately the Lake District has hills as well as Lakes. Most places have their own transmitters which are of necessity low power. Anywhere out of the immediate vicinity of a transmitter will need a directional aerial. Omnis are very low gain and pre-amps only help if there is at least a small signal at the aerial. Some of the local transmitters are horizontally polarised but some are vertical which won't help much if your aerial can't be adjusted.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    Yes, sorry, I missed the Omni bit. It still applies though - he needs to prove the aerial and the amplifier first and a signal finder is a cheap easy way of doing that. Just ignore the bit about adjusting the aerial (y)

    Connect the cable directly from the aerial to it first, then if you get something on the finder move it to one of the outputs on the amplifier.
     
  12. Linda and Steph

    Linda and Steph Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    1,309
    Location:
    Lancaster
    We found the aerial on our Elddis was next to useless (it was just a short bee-sting type. We never managed to pick up a signal no matter what we tried.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. dbnosey

    dbnosey Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    101
    Yes that type of Avtex aerial is as much use as a damp piece of string. I have found the Avtex STH3000 very good in the Lake District even just hanging from the skylight inside the MH. Can be used for vertical (repeater transmitter) or horizontal (main transmitter) polarisation.
    I have a Sat system but always carry the said aerial in case of trees.
    Colin
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  14. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    [​IMG]Avtex STH3000 Caravan & Motorhome Digital Freeview TV Aerial

    Included in the Avtex STH3000 Portable Digital Freeview TV Aerial

    • Antenna
    • Pole or Wall Mount
    • Flexible Suction Mount
    • 3m Coaxial Aerial Cable
    • 12v Aerial Power Adapter
    • 12v Cigar Lighter Plug
    • Pole Mounting Kit
    • Wall Mounting Kit
    From personal use I have found this to be an excellent aerial in a poor signal area but it is essential that the power amplifier/booster as supplied is powered and on and, some TV receivers may not have a 12v supply at the aerial input socket like Avtex so use the cigarette socket power source as supplied.
    =================================================


    I use one in my office in garage block as there is no aerial supply out there, mounted on a pole about 9 foot high it is brilliant, I use a 12v laptop charger for supply

    Peter
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  15. Muddibootz

    Muddibootz Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    North Shropshire
    I'm not sure what the make of aerial in our 2012 Elddis but ours was great to start with, then stopped working in much the same way you describe. When I looked into it, the power lead which is presumably feeding an amplifier had become disconnected which was strange because it's inside some capping so couldn't be easily disturbed. I reconnected it using some choc block and it's been fine since. Could be a common issue with the Elddis connections?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. ambulancekidd

    ambulancekidd Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    1,329
    Location:
    Ayrshire Scotland
    Digital TV rarely works with omnidirectional aerials. The Lake district is a case in point, I've only every received a signal with a unidirectional (can be pointed) aerial in Cumbria or anywhere in Scotland, furthermore you can receive extra channels in the same area by turning your aerial through from horizontal to vertical. This is especially true in Dumfries & Galloway where some signals are received from the Caldbeck (Cumbria) transmitters. The TV needs to be retuned between the two variations.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    After I changed the amplifier on ours I get a pretty good signal most places I would expect to. It is susceptible to van movement though which I discovered recently is due to it not being fitted level. It has adjustment to avoid that.

    I would say if you are suddenly getting no picture where you previously had a picture it is either a failed booster or a wiring issue.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. teensvan99

    teensvan99 Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Margate
    Get a maxview crank up sat system and bin in the avtex. We R sitting at Piesport Germany watching Emerdale should say Ann is watching it
     
  19. ambulancekidd

    ambulancekidd Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    1,329
    Location:
    Ayrshire Scotland
    Programmes like "Emmerdale" can cause serious damage to your......sanity, tune it out immediately lol, but yes your absolutely correct a decent satellite system is by far & away superior.
     
  20. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Just had a weekend away and had no TV - we have a 2013 Elddis with the Avtex black thin whip aerial and also have a new Avtex TV connected to it. I've got a signal strength meter and it shows full strength (80)...When I tune the TV in it says that its found 90 TV channels and 30 or so radio stations..

    All looks good until you try to view a channel - the pictures comes on, breaks up, goes away, and then does this continually or in some cases goes black and then eventually the TV says No signal and retune.

    Do anyone have any idea what I can try to do to fix it other than replacing it!
     
Loading...

Share This Page