avtex 19" tv

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Builder147, Mar 12, 2014.

  1. Builder147

    Builder147 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Devon
    Just a quick question regarding the Avtex 19” L186drs. I know it has a built in sat decoder/freeview, but what exactly can I watch? (what channels in the uk ) Sorry if it is a silly q, but how do I watch my sky tv? (I know I need a Dish/dome) but do I need a separate sky box? i.e. pace box? :Confused:

    Many thanks as always. :Smile:
     
  2. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    We have the same tv, apart from your satellite dish, you can take your Sky or Sky + box and viewing card with you to watch your particular package. As well as the other Freeview channels that are available.
    We got a Sky+ box for a fiver, so just take it with us so we can watch what we want now.
    Unless someone knows otherwise.......

    Bill
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014
  3. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    South Staffs
    Yes you need a sky box if you want to watch sky tv with the Avtex. The channels you can get are the same as you get with freeview tv but you can get all the regional channels. :Smile:
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Builder147

    Builder147 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Devon
    Brill:Smile: Thank you. But would it be best to get a 12v box?
     
  5. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    If we stop in a lay-by for lunch (what else???:Laughing::Rofl1:) and want to watch the tv we can operate the Avtex and our satellite off the 12 volt and could watch the usual Freeview channels. But in order to use our Sky box/Sky channels/ we need the viewing card and mains supply to power it up.
    Not too sure what you mean by a 12 volt box?
    We never put the tv on for quick stops though.

    Bill
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014
  6. Builder147

    Builder147 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Devon
    Sorry, I was just asking if there is 12v sky+ receiver that you could buy instead of the 240v ones:Smile:
     
  7. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland

    Hi, not that I am aware of.

    Bill
     
  8. patmyhead

    patmyhead Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    uk
    i have a sky 12 volt receiver but it is not sky+ it works on both 12 & 240 volts
     
  9. mentaliss

    mentaliss

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    307
    Location:
    Lancing
    dont want to spoil the party didnt someone say on another sat tv topic that taking a sky box out of the Uk was illegal..as Im looking to do the same thing??:Doh::Doh:
     
  10. OwnedbyCollies

    OwnedbyCollies Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    We have an Avtex TV, dome and Sky+ box. We transfer the viewing card from the house when we go away (but remember you cannot watch premium channels on a different box).

    The Sky+ box is run off a small 150 watt inverter. The TV and box draw about 3.5 amps when in use.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Norfolk Red
    Replies:
    39
    Views:
    974
  2. colyboy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    436
  3. Theonlysue
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    228
  4. PaulB
    Replies:
    34
    Views:
    792
  5. Timcropp
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    223

Share This Page