Autotrail Media pack.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by robnchris, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Chester
    Like most of the Autotrail owners over the last 3 years we have had major issues with the Media Pack Cab Radio unit, currently on our third though it doesn`t upload the phone contacts making it impossible to make a hands free call, a rather important function they forgot to tell us that this unit didn`t have.
    Autotrails answer is that it was never designed to have that facility, it`s actually took them 18mths to make that statement, what a laugh or perhaps it would be if I hadn`t paid £999.00 for it especially as we live in a country where it is illegal to use a hand held phone whilst driving.

    We have now asked for a refund and they can have the unit back.
     
  2. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,535
    Location:
    kent
    Was the £999 just for the hands free facility?
     
  3. ABZSteve

    ABZSteve Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Is the new system on the 2015 models hands free?
     
  4. K9Brian

    K9Brian Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    603
    Location:
    South Manchester
    I find the media pack rubbish - don't use it as gave up on it
     
  5. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,351
    Likes Received:
    21,736
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    As far as I am concerned the media package is a reet pain in the nethers
    It caused me a shed load of grief to start with and I soon bypassed/replaced most of it !
     
  6. mojo

    mojo Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Essex
    We are on our second replacement,independant fitter said it is a very cheap item
     
  7. AuldCodger

    AuldCodger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    ?
    I know nothing of the Media Pack but it certainly sounds a poor state of affairs to lay out so much cash on a system that just doesn't do the job.
    Not much help but perhaps for others we use the hands free facility on our TomTom camper sat nav and it works extremely well.
     
  8. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Chester
    No the media pack as a whole cost £999 as it is all a combined unit, the model fitted in our apache doesn`t have the dvd capability, the bluetooth facility is the big let down, not working at all on our first unit.
    It just seems to me that Autotrail bought these units fitted them and didn`t bother to test them they failed so much that they now don`t fit them.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,351
    Likes Received:
    21,736
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    The 'media pack' in our Se is just a load of different bits cobbled together on a board, that then feed a Kenwood stereo unit in the dash that plays DVD's
    Straight away it caused grief with the reversing camera and contacting Autotrail about where it was cabled to and from brought forth little help ( as in where they had run the cables )
    After that we had various other issues so although it is still in place it is really only used as a multiple switch nowadays
     
  10. jenny and mitch

    jenny and mitch Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    1,583
    Location:
    Bungay Suffolk
    Our head unit had to be sent away for repair, but since its return it has been ok..
    I mentioned to our dealer that I had heard it was a "cheapo" unit, but he checked up and said it cost the best part of 600 squid !! I still suspect it is more like the 250 mark..
    But, as long as ours works, we will keep shtumm !!
     
  11. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    little niggles that cost loads of dosh for something that can be retrofitted for a fraction of the cost and work, when will they learn.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. robnchris

    robnchris Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Chester
    Ahh but you can`t make a call from it, so what good is the Bluetooth phone facility in a country were it`s illegal to use a non hands free phone whilst driving?
     
  13. jenny and mitch

    jenny and mitch Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    1,583
    Location:
    Bungay Suffolk
    You can from mine !!
     
  14. joncris

    joncris Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Where it matters
    Me also
     
  15. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ours has just been returned after repair, well they replaced it with a 13LE (later version of the now deleted model). However, the connections on the back are different so now waiting on a new GPS aerial, adapter plugs, etc.
    Only thing I've checked so far is the reversing camera and it does activate much quicker than the previous unit.
    We used to be able to receive and make calls from the previous unit using bluetooth but not checked replacement yet.
     
Loading...

Share This Page