Anyone Used Microsofts MapPoint

Discussion in 'Continental Touring' started by Braunston, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    I have been looking for possible updates on Autoroute and it appears Microsoft are moving towards support for MapPoint 2009 rather than an update to Autoroute 2007, have any of you any experience of MapPoint and does it work similar to Autoroute, it does seem a little bit expensive at £300

    any advice would be welcome, and any cheaper ways to obtain it.

    Braunston
     
  2. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    I have just downloaded a 60 day trial copy (2GB) of MapPoint 2009 Europe and on the surface it feels just like an updated version of Autoroute 2007 but with a few more knobs etc.

    I have been trying to check just how new the map source is its supposed to be 2008 anyone got any 2008 roads that i can try and find, as it would be interesting to see just how up to date it really is.
     
  3. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    Find a good mate who already has it....thats the cheapest! :thumb: Alternatively you will find it on Demonoid.

    Must admit i'm more than happy with my Autoroute which is a 2004 version!
     
  4. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Devon
    New Bridge over the River Taw A361/B3233 From Pottington to Sticklepath in Barnstaple North Devon

    Lesley
     
  5. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi, Thanks for the suggestions,

    I can only find Sticklepath I can't find Pottington and the only bridges I can find are the A3125 from Sticklepath towards Barnstaple town centre or the main A361 from Braunton Road to a large roundabout at Sticklepath.



     
  6. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Devon
    Hi Braunston

    I am sure that is the one. That bridge from Braunton to Sticklepath is only on the very latest maps. It only opened last year, so I would say it is an up to date map.

    Lesley
     
  7. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Devon
    New bridge makes Ilfracombe more accessible
    07 August 2007
    New Bridge
    The new Bridge in Barnstaple has cleared some of the major traffic jams which once plagued the town.

    Previously the only route from the A361 link road (the major highway from M5) was directly through the centre of Barnstaple Generating masses of traffic.

    Now the new bridge has created a by pass of the town. Now vehicles wanting to reach Ilfracombe or the beautiful neigbouring towns and villages can follow the A361 untill just outside the town, then follow the A39 taking them around Barnstaples busy points and out to the bridge. The bridge crosses the river taw then rejoins the A361 by the dual carriageway on the other side of Barnstaple thus avoiding rush hour traffic.

    Thanks to the multi million pound investment the towns general traffic flow is greatly reduced now.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2009
  8. Thepips

    Thepips Trade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Using borrowed software isn't going to work with MS products much longer. They've already started implementing validation checks for their products. As soon as you go online it checks to see if it's already been installed on another PC.

    An alternative to Autoroute is Infomap Navigator. V9 is due out anytime now. V8 was released over a year ago and has the bridge on it. They do a number of different versions including a Truck version that uses the OS enhanced route information. Standard Europe is £70, truck edition is £160.

    Regards
    Doug
     
  9. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    You have to use a key gen.....without one you won't get an installation.
     
  10. Thepips

    Thepips Trade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Keygen or pirated keys won't work in the future as it's going the same way as the OS. It goes online to activate the product and won't allow it to be activated a second time.

    Regards
    Doug
     
  11. Tinyk

    Tinyk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find MapPoint an excellent bit of kit, use it all the time at work and it very seldom fails me, plus the real addition over Autoroute is the Full 7 digit postcode intrigation.

    The 2009 copy i have has been fully registered by a very knowledgable person and does not need any sort of keygen or anything else just installing.

    I would never promote software piracy so please dont pm me with the address you would like a full copy deliverd to as i would never ever contemplate sending you a copy :Rofl1:


























    Unless you buy the first beer if we every meet :beerchug:
     
  12. Thepips

    Thepips Trade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    I do hope it's not using a copy issued under SA or Enterprise agreements. Otherwise the owners of the licence could be VERY unhappy at true-up time. Mappoint isn't covered by the MS home use program either. If you've had it installed and you don't have a valid licence then it's pirated. Sooner or later the MS validation process will trap it.

    Regards
    Doug
     
  13. Tinyk

    Tinyk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes your are quite correct, I only demonstrated it and after your post saw the error of my ways have and deleted it from my system.
     
Loading...

Share This Page