Android App Or Dedicated Satnav?

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by mwark, Jul 2, 2015.

  1. mwark

    mwark Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    London
    Hello again. Another question from me!

    For context, we're about to set off on a four month trip to Europe, taking in most countries in western Europe (Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Montenegro, Albania, Italy, France, Spain, Portugal, perhaps a couple of others).

    I have a Nexus 7 (Android tablet). I don't have a dedicated satnav. Saving money is good.

    Should I buy a dedicated satnav?
    Or are the Android apps good enough?
    Which Android app? CoPilot, TomTom, etc?
    If I go with the Android app, can I get camperstops /aires as poi on it like you can load onto some dedicated satnavs?
    Do I need a working data connection at all times?

    Many thanks
    Mark
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Copilot has got us all over Europe for many years for very little outlay.

    Use it on a cheap 7" tablet or my phone depending on vehicle. All maps are stored on phone/tablet, about 3GB for all Europe.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. mwark

    mwark Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    London
    Just reading reviews for CoPilot and TomTom apps. Seems loads of people have problems with them.
     
  4. mwark

    mwark Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    London
    Thanks Brian. When last did you update the app? Looks to be a LOT of negative feedback about the latest updates (since around May).
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Read FUN, loads have problems with anything technical.

    I'm doing a map update right now on Copilot ready for Italy later this month.

    Another brilliant map app is Maps.Me. Not so much as a navigator but just a free detailed map of anywhere you choose to download.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mwark

    mwark Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    London
    Heh, I hear you. Tech wise I should be fine :wink:

    It's more that people are complaining the app crashes on opening, or has started taking 10 minutes to get a lock etc.
     
  7. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Couple of days ago. No experience of update yet. But I've just moved the goal posts and last night ordered a new 5" Android 4 phone to replace my old 3.5" Android 2 one. It will be next week before I go testing.

    I hope they've not ruined it because it's served me well for over 10 years starting on a WinCE phone that could just about load a single country at a time. The display/features are everything you would expect from a dedicated SatNav. Anyway, they are to well established not to iron out the bugs.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    You should see my wife in action, if something does not happen NOW she just keeps clicking away and I find 20 browsers open at one.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,229
    Likes Received:
    34,417
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ever since my Dad (a cabinet maker) taught me to use a screwdriver rather than a hammer for screws I have preferred to use a tool designed for the job. General purpose tools are fine for light and occasional use but I will always go for a sat nav over an app by preference.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. mwark

    mwark Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    London
    Hope so too.

    Btw, can you load extra POI on it? Like locations of aires?
     
  11. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I've never done it, pass.

    I made one mistake with the Android version, I downloaded the free version as a test, the idiots disable the sound so you get a totally unrealistic experience of using it.

    I made a bracket to hold a £50 Argos 7" tablet to clip in the Ducato map clip. The GPS worked fine, despite the over cab bed and the screen size was excellent. I linked the audio to the radio AUX and had high quality sound.

    But always, in my humble(ish) opinion have a map and make sure any SatNav is not getting you in trouble.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. mwark

    mwark Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    London
    (y)
     
  13. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    My Sat nav (Garmin) totally lost the plot on our first trip to France three weeks ago and if it hadn't been for my iphone we would have been screwed, just the map app that comes with the phone worked great and now I actually prefer it to the Garmin(y)

    And yes the Garmin had all of Europe maps fully updated just before we left:rolleyes:
     
  14. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    You mean your staff forgot to pack the maps ? Fire them.

    I wonder how Drake managed ?
     
  15. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Yes you will need a data connection at all times for it to work on android.
     
  16. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales

    No, I had a book of maps for France but my co pilot would have been about as useful as the Garmin:doh:
     
  17. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Yes looking at it that way a good SatNav is much cheaper than divorce lawyer, and you can shout "silly cow, not up there" and it does not take offence, "and turn around when possible".
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Usually true but a dedicated satnav is actually a cheap tablet with restricted software.
     
  19. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,229
    Likes Received:
    34,417
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I compared the Garmin and Noza Tec a few weeks ago. One of the differences is that the dedicated Garmin hardware is of better quality than the cheap tablet that the Noza Tec runs on. The three car sat navs I've owned have also been better quality hardware than cheap tablets.
     
  20. SMB

    SMB Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    north shields
    I have used Copilot on my previous phones with good results, and currently have copilot truck on my android phone. A couple of times over the years I have had to reinstall it after the software froze, and it doesn't work very well on my HTC One (think that's the GPS on the phone though rather than the software). You do not need Internet connection unless you want to use traffic updates etc. I have loaded poi's onto my phone which is easy to do, it uses the Tomtom format poi's
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page