Alternative to Sky?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Touchwood, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. Touchwood

    Touchwood Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    697
    Location:
    NE England
    Not actually for the MH, but for our home TV - I'm fed up of paying the exorbitant Sky subscriptions, and am looking for a non-subscription alternative. We watch almost exclusively just the normal "terrestrial" channels (BBC1, BBC2, ITV etc.) so our requirements are pretty basic: -

    HD TV (channels as above, others nice but not a must)
    Ability to record two channels
    Ability to pause and rewind live TV

    I understand there are "boxes" that will do this (Humax) We have built in freeview on our TV, so it's really just the recording facility we need.

    Is it as simple as buying a Humax (or similar) box and plugging it into our existing Sky dish and the TV? Or is there more to it?

    Advice gratefully received.
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,232
    Likes Received:
    34,418
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Funny you should ask that today Mike.

    We had a wander round Currys this morning and ended up buying a new TV and Freeview Recorder - This One. No satellite required as it receives Freeview through the aerial and plugs into the TV via supplied hdmi cable.

    Early days yet and we haven't tried the Pause/Rewind but it seems OK.
     
  3. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,877
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    I use one of these..

    [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/EchoStar-HDS-600RS-SlingLoaded-Anywhere-recorder/dp/B004S9OT92"]EchoStar HDS-600RS SlingLoaded TV Anywhere Freesat+ HD digital TV recorder: Amazon.co.uk: TV[/ame]


    Also has sling!!

    I also use this...

    http://www.roku.com/uk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    Yes, if you buy a 'box' such as a Humax Foxsat unit you just connect it in place of your sky box and it's done.
     
  5. pablomc

    pablomc Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Co. Durham
    If you are wanting to still use your dish then you would need a freesat box with PVR function.

    Other options are a freeview box (requires an aerial) with PVR function.

    You could use your existing sky+ box and pay Sky ~£20 for freesat as a one off charge, but then you have to pay them ~£10 PM to use the PVR function. :Eeek:
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  6. Viennese

    Viennese Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    Oxford
    Do any of these

    incorporate a DVD player/recorder??

    Catherine
     
  7. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,819
    Likes Received:
    3,193
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    You could buy a Megasat LED TV from Auto Mate who are a first class company.

    The Megasat TV's have built in satellite receivers and DVD players and receive all the normal UK stuff plus 100's of foreign channels as well :thumb: wink wink nudge nudge :Wink: :Laughing:

    http://www.auto-mate.org.uk/satellite-tv/satellite-tv-receivers
     
  8. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,232
    Likes Received:
    34,418
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    No, according to the guy we spoke to in Currys. He also told us that there are now fewer and fewer TVs with built in DVD players as the popularity of DVDs is falling so much - witness HMV I suppose.
     
  9. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    6,214
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin

    you can get freesat box with twin recorder to replace a sky box

    http://www.google.co.uk/search?clie...oe=UTF-8&redir_esc=&ei=a9D2UKHpH4ep0AWvpICoCw
    :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  10. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,772
    Location:
    Flintshire
    I've just upgraded to Talktalk TV plus, £15.50 per month, recorder/pause/rewind free view box with all the iPlayer channels, unlimited broadband, unlimited anytime phone calls plus pay line rental 12 months in advance works out £9.50 per month instead of BT line rental of £14.50 pm.:thumb:
     
  11. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Can anyone get this or do you have to be a talk talk customer?
    Terry
    edit My mate has just brought me a ZOTAC Z BOX TO play with -wiil report later after he connects it all up for me
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  12. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,132
    Likes Received:
    16,363
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    If you are computer literate and would like to extend your viewing then a Dreambox may suit your needs. Be warned that they are not a plug and play system but more for the serious hobbyist.
     
  13. joner8888

    joner8888 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    somerset
    I had a humax hd recorder for over a year--i cancelled sky for a year so it payed for its self.
    But, the Humax box was a bit of a pain to try to operate after using sky+ box.
    I also missed the discovery/ Nat geographic / variety of music channels.
    I know i got to pay again, but it is nice
     
  14. Colinyellowspanner

    Colinyellowspanner Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    TV Box

    We have a Panasonic tv with Freesat built in, the Dish downlead just plugs into rear of set - simples! BUT wanted facility to rew/pause/rec live tv onto hard disc. I wanted a Panasonic unit so 1 remote worked it all. Have bought their PWT 520. Can now watch 1 channel & rec 2 others onto hard disc SD card or dvd. It's also WiFi so it will talk to my laptop to view Video, photos. or music, as its online it's set up for BBC iplayer etc too, oh yes its a bluray player as well! Absolutely brilliant! HD pic quality, good sound, easy to use prog guide 1 happy bunny.:driving2:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,509
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    I have a Panasonic Freesat twin channel recorder with 500GB HD and blu ray recorder/player built in. With Freeview on the TV we can even watch one channel and record two other (possibly HD) channels at any time. Timer recordings are simplicity itself to set up, go to the EPG andscroll through to the prog you wish to record and press OK, if its also available on a HD channel it will tell you and give the optiion to record the HD channel, select OK and job done. It also does series record and if a prog gets delayed or its timing altered it automatically sorts it out. It also incorporates a SD card reader and USB socket as well as wired ethernet via which you can access the BBC/ITV/CH4/CH5 Iplayers.

    D.
     
  16. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,772
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Yes Terry you sign up as TT customer and as I said, unlimited anytime phone calls, unlimited broadband and the box, Google Talktalk for full info.:thumb:
     
  17. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,849
    Likes Received:
    14,503
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  18. Touchwood

    Touchwood Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    697
    Location:
    NE England
    Too many choices! :Doh:

    Seriously, thanks to all - it's obvious that there are a good many options, so I'll have to do some research to determine what's best for us.

    One further question - it looks as though one basic decision will be whether to use the existing Sky dish or the normal roof aerial. To slightly complicate things I am a bit puzzled regarding the latter, as we don't have one, it fell down months ago - BUT - we still get a perfectly good picture on all freeview channels when we tune to normal TV (as opposed to Sky) We do this when we are recording two Sky channels and want to watch a third channel.

    Any guesses/thoughts as to what's happening here? And advice on the pros/cons of using the Sky dish or our (non-existent but apparently still working) roof aerial?

    Cheers,

    Mike
     
  19. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    6,214
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    i believe when annolouge telly was turned off


    we only have digital broadcasts now
    and at the same time the signal was increased
    meaning a rubbish aerial now works better
    thats my understanding any way

    :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  20. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    UK TV via TV aerial - Freeview
    UK TV via satellite - Freesat
    Not all Channels on Freeview are on Freesat - "Dave" for example.

    For a choice of freesat boxes and the best deals look atthe right hand side of joinfreesat.co.uk
    The new "freetime" boxes are designed to be more "internet / VOD" freindly and have the ability for "backwards" EPG.
     
Loading...

Share This Page