Advice Re Linking Inverter To The 240v Ring

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by PJGWiltshire, May 3, 2015.

  1. PJGWiltshire

    PJGWiltshire Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    I have now installed a 1500w inverter which I presently run an extension lead from. No problem but it would be much neater if I could link it upto the 240v ring in the motorhome when not on EHU. Can any of you wise ones point me in the right direction.
     
  2. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    becareful . i have known folk wire them into the ring then use ehu and blow the inverter. i prefer a extension lead system at least it seams safer.
    i,m sure there possibly is a gadget of some sort to over come this . but extension lead as worked for 13 yrs in mine no probs .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,302
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    it can be done automatically using relays or manually using a change over switch but the simplist way ive seen is a plug before the consumer unit and two sockets one fed from the invertor one from the ehu
     
  4. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,841
    Likes Received:
    76,156
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I'm about to wire one in to the RV. Remote control and I'm not clever enough to make an auto switchover but it will use the same socket as the regular hookup. So impossible to have both hooked up at the same time, I'll need to remove the inverter plug to be able to hookup to the mains. This way the inverter will make all my sockets live and run my fridge etc (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Daifuse

    Daifuse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    310
    Location:
    Milford Haven
    Don't be tempted to connect two plugs to a piece of wire and plug the inverter output into an existing socket as I've seen done before. A cable with a plug on each end is known as a 'Widowmaker'!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,436
    Likes Received:
    6,688
    Location:
    Plymouth
    I have installed a dedicated mini ring to run from the inverter completely separate works well twin 110amph batteries & 220w of solar (y)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Hi Jim, dont forget to switch off the battery charger as I am told that perpetual motion still does not exist.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    • Like Like x 1
  9. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    Location:
    Guisborough
    I changed the Inverter in ours to a pure sine but all the wiring was there for the auto changeover so I just did a quick swap that way it by passes the battery charger so I dont need to keep switching it off when on Inverter but everything else runs as if on EHU. The switch should prioritise EHU but not been brave enough to try it in anger.
     
  10. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,244
    Likes Received:
    5,039
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Just fitting an inverter at the moment, I want to wire mine in so it auto switches. Worked how to do to 2 of the vans sockets, the way Hymer have wired the van doesn't help, one feed supplies the Electroblock & 2 sockets the other the Fridge & 2 sockets. Now that I have got the floor up in one of the wardrobes found some connectors but they are strange ones not been able to source them anywhere, was hoping to do the mods so that I could just plug it back as it was if I decide to take it out when selling the van. Looks like I'll be cutting the cables.
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    simple and fool-proof.. KISS (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I found my socket for the microwave is on the same radial circuit as the fridge, so rather than get complicated, I just plug the microwave into an extension from the inverter when we need to use it. Not a very elegant solution but it's not as if we use the microwave much. On ehu it just works in its own socket as originally designed.
     
  14. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    2,531
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    I was planning to do the same but haven't worked out how to turn off the battery charger automatically and I will forget if I have to do it manually.

    I considered removing all the wiring from the hook up so that on hook up all I'm powering is the battery charger then everything else off the inverter all the time. Seems the simplest option I think..
     
  15. Steve

    Steve Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Location:
    Compton Berkshire
    I think this is by far the simplest and safest way and costs very little, you may well already have the cable. As already said Keep It Simple
    I like simple.....o_O
     
  16. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Yeah; Kiss works for me too. However I got carried away and used a 40A Changeover switch with a centre NULL. No chance of both being live together the charger unit was wired between the EHU and the C/O Switch (no EHU. No Charger)

    Pete
     
Loading...

Share This Page