A small dilemna?????

Discussion in 'Continental Touring' started by pendy, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. pendy

    pendy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Going to France next friday/saturday, my Sky digi box has packed up :cry: what I am left with is an oyster 90cm auto dish and a freeview television. Do I;-

    A.Bite the bullet and order a new SKY box,hope it comes in time to fit it.:thumb:

    B.Simply rejig the dish to link straight to the televison (trouble with this is I wont be able to get SKY to watch the cricket!!):cry:

    C.Any suggestions you kind folk could make to get me out of trouble with the wife. (no corrie):Angry:

    TIA.
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi,

    waste of time connecting your dish direct to the Tv...it wont work.
    freeview is terrestrial TV through an aerial.

    looks like a new box.

    you could buy a freesat or free to air box but still no cricket.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    just a thought.....

    is the sky box kept in the van or is it your home box you take with you?

    if it is just for the van then take the one from home.
     
  4. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Buy a cheapy used box on ebay maybe?
     
  5. pendy

    pendy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Possible problem

    I just had the box out of the van and it looks like it is 12 volt powered is this correct, also it is a very slim box are these just for Motorhomes??
    If I can replace with an ordinary box off Ebay no problem, but I beleive these will all be configured for a normal 240v power lead am I correect???
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    not 100% sure but i think there is only one sky box that will run on 12v and thats the pace javelin.......out of production years ago but still available in reconditioned form and around £100 (i think)

    you may find one or two on ebay but getting it by next weekend is doubtfull.

    you may have to use an inverter to run a 230v one unless you plan on being on hookup or run a genny.
     
  7. pendy

    pendy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Correct

    You are right poppajohn,there is only 1 on Ebay and that is for sale with a dish and all the bits and bobs to accompany it.:cry:
    I have another sky box that works so I might give your other suggestion a go.
    Thanks to everyone for their valuable input.
     
  8. Landy lover

    Landy lover Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Zummerzet
    Try Total Satelite Company Ltd - 12 Denby Lane - Grange Moor - Wakefield - WF4 4ED Phone 01924 848566 Mobile 07801 843332 - had them fit a new satelite dish and system to our 5er in Feb at the Birmingham show - they fitted a pace 12v box and as far as I know it was a new one - certainly had no problem with it so far - its under 12 months warranty - They appear to be a good company and I am sure they will get on on carrier for you if you phone them - father and son outfit and seen pretty good to us.
    Can't tell you the price now as it was part of the total package we had but I think Papa Johns figure rings a bell somewhere.
     
  9. pendy

    pendy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Birmingham
    I can ring them tomorrow thanks for the info!!
     
  10. pendy

    pendy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Sorted!!!!

    :thumb::thumb:I sorted it, I put the other box in that I had and got it up and running, the sky menu said "no satellite signal" opened Thompson Local called a local engineer who replaced the LNB on dish and hey presto!! All tuned and ready to rock:Rofl1:
    Long live the local hero!!!!!!:Rofl1:
     
  11. pendy

    pendy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Sorry

    £35.00 all in.result:Laughing:
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    funny innit!!!!!

    no-one even gave a thought to the LNB.......says something for the reliability and longevity of these things:thumb:

    glad you got it sorted.
     
Loading...

Share This Page