A silly question

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Teasy2007, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Hi.

    You know the TV aerial on a motorhome, is it just analogue?

    If it is, why are manufactureres still putting them on when most of UK will be digital soon?
     
  2. philw111

    philw111 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Moray Firth
    The motorhome aeriel works the same as your home aeriel. It used to pick up analogue and will now pick up digital (freeview).

    Phil
     
  3. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Any aerial (antenna) is nether analogue or digital, its just an antenna, however to receive a digital TV signal you may need a higher signal level than is required for analogue TV.

    So if you cant receive an exceptionable signal you need to get closer to the transmitter, or put your antenna higher, or use a better antenna, which is what most people do. hence the change of antenna's in poor reception areas.

    Doug...
     
  4. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Thats a great answer, so if we only ever use the aerial when we are in Dover carpark - mainly because Mike can't be bothered to set up the inverter - would we be better off asking the manufacturer to not put the aerial on in the first place?

    We have a KVH dome which is brilliant, a 12 volt freeview and Sky +, so do we really need the aerial???

    Ginny
     
  5. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,638
    Likes Received:
    14,190
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    There is no such thing as a digital aerial.
    Its a con by the providers / installers.
    As said here, an aerial is an aerial.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    took my flying saucer aerial off to fit a much more usable piece of kit.....a solar panel.

    still had the crank up sat dish though :Laughing:
     
  7. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    most rv's have win guard

    John I am sure you had a Winguard on your roof? now that is a good bit of kit that has a booster and can be wound up and turned directional to pick up a signal.. but with the satellite dome we pick up free view and free to air satellite tv... so we get everything via the saterlite and have the Winguard if we want to crank it up .. but we have not used it that much. The little status arial that are used on caravans we found was not that good as it did not boost the signal much (Had one years a go on an old Glendale and also on a caravan we had).

    But as said an Arial is an Arial and it just depends how big and the direction it is pointing it and what transmitter it picks up.. In fact where we live is less than a mile direct to the Pembury Transmitter yet our TV arial is aimed at a transmitter 15 miles further away..we get a better signal on that than the local one!

    Bob:thumb:
     
  8. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Hi Teasy
    Not what your asking, but if you go on the CC Crystal Palace site, You dont need an ariel at all in fact you get a better picture with none plugged in to the tele, your that near to the transmitter the signal is to strong with the ariel plugged in. Pete :thumb:
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i do Bob, actually its a 'Signal Commander' but just about the same.:thumb:

    i was refering to my old kontiki which had a status 315 saucer.
     
  10. Douzeper

    Douzeper Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Antrim, Northern Ireland
    Not sure how true or relevant this is, but.... :)

    My Brother in Law is the type that researches every tiny little detail before buying ANYTHING!

    He told me a few years ago that when buying an upgraded aerial to receive a better digital signal (house), they are all colour coded, the small plastic coloured insert on the end of the aerial has to be suited to your area.

    His is yellow, mine is grey.

    So with that in mind, any aerial bought for a motorhome surely will never be at it's optimum.
     
  11. sedge

    sedge Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,499
    Likes Received:
    3,848
    Location:
    Nr Jct 3 M6
    Heehee at Bob's post, at Kidderminster we lived about a couple of miles away from the Burlish Park transmitter but couldn't get BBC2 for love nor money, so #1 turned it round and just pointed it in the general direction of Sutton Coldfield - bingo!
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    A tv signal can be too strong as well as too weak.

    it has been known to put aerials in house lofts, or even turn them the wrong way round, to attenuate the signal.

    we live within 1/2 mile, and in 'line of sight' of, the local transmitter and use a small wire type set top aerial in our bedroom.
     
  13. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,325
    Likes Received:
    21,615
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    They are colour coded ..

    Red cap is A group ( power end of the band ) Yellow is B group, and Green is C group ( there is a D group but it is more a sub group of C )

    Grey or black are normally wide band aerials..

    If you are fitting an antenna on a house of fixed place then using one meant for the same group of frequencies as your local transmitter is pretty much essential

    Fitting one on a motorhome or other mobile base it is essential you use a wide band |( log periodic ) antenna as it will have to work on all groups as you move around the country

    For a full list of the transmitters and what group they use go to http://www.ofcom.org.uk/static/reception_advice/index.asp.html
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. grumps147

    grumps147 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    879
    Location:
    St.Helens
    We have just returned from a week at the Bardsey end of the Llyn peninsular where our son was camping and he wanted to watch the end of the Tour a week ago today.

    Our MH has a tv as standard, (with freeview) but had not been used since the demo at pick up just over twelve months ago.

    After a hasty read of the instruction book, and finding where to generally point the aerial, I pressed the auto detect button.

    Even more surprising than me getting the buttons pressed in the right order first time and without any cursing, it quickly found the signal from the aerial (I did have line of site I found a few nights later when the red lights showed up many miles across the bay), and it loaded many freeview channels, including the one with the Tour on it.

    It was switched off after that programme and will be some time before it will be called into use again.

    So Autotrail are and have been fitting digitally compatible systems for some time.

    Dont ask me what special kind of aerial it is they have fitted, I have no idea. It looks like those many caravans have.
     
  15. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,325
    Likes Received:
    21,615
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    As said else where there actually is no such thing as a 'digital' aerial

    It is a lump of metal ( and some plastic ) and has NO idea if the signals it is detecting carry a digital signal or an analogue one :Smile:

    And just reread my previous post..

    There is an error in the grouping descrition ..

    The red end capped aerials are not at the Power end .. that was meant to read the Lower end !
     
Loading...

Share This Page