3000w inverter and wiring

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Richgj, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. Richgj

    Richgj Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Southampton
    i I have a 300w inverter which I have wired in following JeaN Luc's great description on how to wire an inverter.

    I have been given a 3000w inverter and had foolishly assumed I could just swap it over but the cables on the 3000w look huge and I'm wondering if it needs earthing as well. I haven't been given any instructions. My current inverter is less than a metre from my batteryand I would be looking to site this one in the same place as the exisitng inverter.

    I also have a 90 watt solar panel which puts a charge back in the battery for when we are running off just the battery.

    Any advice would gratefully be taken on board. Rich
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    A 3000 watt inverter pulls 250A on full load (3000/12v )

    for a 1mt cable run the recommended cable size is 70 sq mm

    If the inverter has an earth bolt or connector bond to the van ..
     
  3. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    As Scotjimland says - proceed with great caution. A number of thoughts:
    1. Monster cables required
    2. have you sufficient battery capacity? A 3 kw inverter at full belt will flatten 2x110 Ah batteries in a few minutes.
    3. You need a relay capable of handling 250 amps plus.
    4. A 3 kw inverter will generate some heat - is the proposed location well-ventilated?
    5. Do you really need 3 kw capacity or do you just want a bit more than 300W and happen to have this monster available? If so, buy the size you really need - under-running a big inverter is inefficient as they draw a larger quiescent current than you could get away with.
    6. If such a large inverter is not installed absolutely correctly, there is a serious risk of creating a fire hazard.

    More knowledgable members may post other opinions on this matter, but I would not feel too confident to proceed.

    p.s. many thanks for the kind comments in your previous post.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    the 3000watt inverter will give you the ability to drain the battery in a few mins literally. If you have no idea how to wire it and sizes to use I would suggest you also don't have the knowledge to save you from cooking the batteries ( how many do you have by the way). Not being funny but 300W is sufficient to run a TV, laptop, chargers etc with a very low sandby power consumption. a 3KW job on the otherhand will consume a few amps even when not being used. Do you really need it. I know it sounds a great idea and some people do have them fitted. But they do require specialist knowledge to use in safety. I would offer to take it off your hands but have no use for such a beast so no axe to grind.:Blush:
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,427
    Likes Received:
    25,081
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ye gods, who hates you that much ?
     
  6. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    if its not a pure sine wave one throw it in the bin or use it as a ground anchor if you get stuck in the mud somewhere.
     
  7. Richgj

    Richgj Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Southampton
    Thanks everyone I think I will stick with what I have this seemed like a good idea as it was a freeby a bit more power would be nice but we have managed as we are and I see no reason to rush into changing what I have. I'll see if I can sell it and split the proceeds with the person who gave it to me.
     
  8. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    hi, not had a 3000w invertor . but use a 2000w inverter almost constant.
    it came with two live feeds and two negative feeds . the cable supplied with it.
    just connected them into the battery bank.
    it stays on most of the time . when away it handles the 240v fridge and various other things .
    at home i park next to the house . run an extention lead from the inverter into the house . keeps the fridhge in the house running . when its sunny i plug the big deep freeze from the house in as well.
    its just a cheap ring modified sine wave.
    yes have more p[anels and a big bank of batteries . the sine wave bit ,i have only found one fridge that it wont work. luckily it was a mates . but i,m happy with it been running it for about 5yrs now. best 139 quid i could have spent.
     
Loading...

Share This Page