'3'

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Hotelman, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. Hotelman

    Hotelman Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Filey
    I know this has been covered before....but.....I am looking at the contract, with only a months cancellation, at £23 a month. However the shop tells us that we are unable to 'tether' to other devices, we use an I phone, iPad and a Mac.
    We will be using the phone in France and Spain .

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    That sounds correct.

    I changed to Three so that I could use the "feel at home" minutes and data as I was going to travel a fair bit this year, but they do seem able to detect that you want to use the data through another device and prevent it (I don't know why browsing Motorhome Fun on a laptop is any "worse" for three than on a two inch blackberry screen, but that's their rule). "Feel at home" also isn't available in two of the three (EU) countries that I visited!

    They also seem to be able to throttle the speed -the phone may be in a 4G area, but as soon as you use the data it downgrades to "H" which is poor.

    Three is cheap, and you get what you pay for.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,327
    Likes Received:
    21,575
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    I have gone to 3 for my MiFi unit, but PAYG only..
    That way I can top it up when we go away and not bother the rest of the time.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,540
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You need a 3 data sim, these you can put in a MiFi and then your other devices can connect to it. If you only need the phones for voice rarely then your existing supplier should be fine, although the charges might be highish. If you want to use voice a lot when away then you need a second 3 sim for the phone only, assuming you are in a 3 "feely" country. :)
     
  5. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    I am more than happy with my 3 deal, 24 month contract, new phone every couple of years. We are just back from Australia and though I used my phone quite a bit whilst there it only cost an extra £2.64 on top of the £25 I normally pay. I have no problems with tethering either which we use when away in the van.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. FIDGET

    FIDGET Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    5,950
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    As Jaws say's , PAYG top up before we go, put on as much as you want or as little down to £10.
    I purchased several £10.49 sims from Curry's when they were on offer @ £4.99,
    I see on amazon someone is selling the sim's for £7.99
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Bacchus

    Bacchus Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Staines
    Ah, yes, sorry, to clarify, tethering works perfectly well in the UK (around eight times faster than my home broadband...) , it was only out of the UK that I find three lacking.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. richr

    richr Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Cheltenham Spa
    Funnily i went into 3 again today after DBK said i should be good tethering when in NZ, see my NZ thread.

    I was told I can have 8gb of data and 200 mins on pre pay for £20 but it will only last around 2 months, so only 2 top ups.
    Didnt seem that expensive to use calling NZ numbers in an emergency either.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page