2nd solar panel (1 Viewer)

Apr 5, 2019
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
Our Bailey Autograph MH has a single Truma 100w solar panel (&Truma pwm controller) and newly fitted Victron smart solar 75/15 and 110AH LiFEPo4.
Planning on fitting a 2nd solar panel, don't seem to be able to purchase Truma panels except as part of a kit, what would be a good make of 2nd panel to wire in parallel.

MisterB

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 25, 2018
Essex
Funster No
MH
Adria 670 SLT
Exp
enough to know i shouldnt touch things i know nothing about ....
As far as I am aware it doesn't really matter about 'matching solar' panels, it's more about the correct size mppt/solar controller and fitting the panels correctly.

Oct 9, 2019
Todmorden
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
FUNSTER in a PVC
Take a look at Craig Solar or Bimble Solar.
I have just received a Craig Solar 300w panel which looks good I may try and fit it myself 🙀🙀🙀🙀

Dec 3, 2021
Surrey, UK
Funster No
MH
6m Campervan
The make of the solar panel is not as important in your case as the specs for volts and amps. These need to match the specs of your current Truma panel.
So say your Truma is specs at 18.5 volts and 5.5 amps, your new panel needs to be the same or very similar. More precisely if you want to connect the new panel in series then the amps need to match precisely for max performance. If you want to connect in parallel then the volts need to match precisely for max performance. Hope this helps

Pusscat

Free Member
Jun 16, 2019
Devon UK
Funster No
MH
Swift Rio 320
Exp
Since 2015