240v Socket Fault, Removal.

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Johnnyb, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Yorks/Derbys
    One of the 240v sockets in our van seems to have very little voltage going to it if that is possible. When I plug my phone charger in the led lights up but it doesn't charge the phone and the TV doesn't work at all when using this socket. I'm obviously not using it as I don't want anything to overheat due to a bad connection etc. Is this likely to be caused by a loose connection at the socket end or more likely a fault with the mains distribution?

    This is the socket, how do I remove it if needed? I thought the silver surround might pull off to reveal screws but don't want to force anything.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    1,772
    Location:
    South Staffs
    Probably a loose wire on the socket, I think they are on a ring so if it was on the distribution board I think all the sockets would be faulty. Unless off course it is on a spur.
    Can't help you on how to remove it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Baycott

    Baycott Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,315
    Likes Received:
    10,559
    Location:
    East Sussex
    I would agree with daveandsan and if it's the same as mine the surround does prise, off revealing screws. (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    sockets in vans are not on a ring.. they are radial..

    and yes, it is probably a loose connection..but if unsure about this, please have it checked by a qualified electrician..
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    9,600
    Location:
    Dorset
    it goes without saying, UNPLUG THE VAN FROM THE EHU FIRST

    the outer silver bezel just clips on and off easily exposing 2 small mounting screws
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    If it is a loose connection on the socket then it needs fixing asap.

    The wire will be sparking and getting very hot....hot enough to burn both the socket and the wirings insulation.

    Very easy to fix.
    UNPLUG THE HOOKUP....and if theres an inverter fitted disconnect/turn off that as well.....then remove the socket, make sure all wires are fully pushed home and tighten the terminal screws.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,463
    Likes Received:
    13,770
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    We had the same problem. It was a loose wire at the back of the socket and an easy fix just as @pappajohn has said.

    If not that then get an electrician asap. AND DON'T USE THAT SOCKET OR EVEN ANY MAINS and unplug from EHU and invertor until it is fixed - you never know what the bare wires are touching.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Yorks/Derbys
    If I unplug the hook up how am I supposed to tell if it's working or not?



    :LOL::LOL::D:ROFLMAO:;)(y)

    Thanks for the pointers though, I'll pop the surround off and check the wiring for starters.
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,856
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    The loose wire can equally be at the previous socket where this one is fed from
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,904
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Good point, but it makes sense to start at the faulty one and work backwards.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Stretford
    Ok, but then he would have 2 sockets not working and the OP only mentions 1, but I stand to be corrected (y)
     
  12. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,856
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Not if only one conductor is not touching, just because a screw may be loose doesn't mean all contact is lost
     
  13. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,856
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Goes without saying John
     
  14. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Stretford
    If either live conductor is loose at previous socket, as suggested, then the same applies
    If loose at socket 1 and working, I would expect socket 2 to also work irrelevant of which live conductor loose
     
  15. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,856
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Not if a conductor has come out of socket one that goes to socket two
     
  16. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Stretford
    Ok, however if its come out (not loose) of socket 1 then I would expect all sockets after this on the radial to have no power (OP only indicated 1 faulty socket) unless the faulty socket is the last one on radial circuit
    if the conductor feeding 2 socket has come out of socket 1 then that would suggest the screw terminal is loose for this to happen (on a T&E install it could have snapped but M/H use stranded cable for this reason) and IMO very unlikely one has come out and not the other but anything possible
    Would still start with the faulty socket on this basis, and as you suggest the socket before if not the faulty socket
     
  17. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,856
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Not many vans have more than two sockets :LOL: Mine has 9 but only because I fitted them.
    Normal Rapido 7090 has one at the sink and one behind the TV
     
  18. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Yorks/Derbys
    Only one faulty socket from a total of four. As I mentioned, the faulty one does have power as the LED on a phone charger comes on when it is plugged in but there doesn't seem to be enough power to charge the phone and the TV doesn't come on at all when used in the faulty socket. Thanks for all the info so far (y)
     
  19. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,120
    Location:
    Kettering
    That suggests a lowered voltage so more likely a loose neutral than a live. Don't use any sockets until you find it. Loose neutrals tend to get very hot.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,856
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    LEDs will or rather can light without a complete circuit and not a reliable indication of 230 volts.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
    • Like Like x 3
Loading...

Share This Page