230v Fridge works, Sockets don't? Help please

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by emmitdb, Jan 15, 2016.

  1. emmitdb

    emmitdb Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Location:
    Cornwall
    This afternoon I went into the 'van (Hobby on an X244 Fiat)

    Immediately prior I had connected the 'van to the mains. I attempted to connect a mains powered heater with no response. I went to the Mains fuse box,(complete with RCD) It was switched in the 'On' position but the trip switch wouldn't work. I jiggled it On, Off etc. a few times
    I tried the heater in all the plugs without effect. The microwave which is powered by mains wasn't lit up, indicating to me that I wasn't getting mains power from the van.
    HOWEVER, On switching on the 230v supply to the fridge the bulb lit indicating that the fridge at least was receiving juice.

    At this point I made a tactical withdrawal because,
    1. I couldn't think any further at this point without assistance
    2. It was f.f.f.f.f.freezing

    Anyone enlighten (not intended) me as to where to go from here.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,869
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    The fridge bulb will be 12v recieving its supply via the 12v fuse distribution unit.

    Try the hookup lead in another 230v house socket.
    Check the 13amp fuse in the domestic 3 pin plug to h/u lead adaptor.
    Check there is 230v at the h/u lead using a volt meter
    Try another h/u lead.
    Do you mean the manual trip button on the RCD....if that wont trip by pressing the button then there is no 230v power getting to the fuse box.
    If nothing else 230v is working then it can only be the supply at fault.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    15,218
    Location:
    notloB
    It's deffo a 'fuse' problem I would think. Along with the main switch and RCD it should have separate ones, on ours it's Fridge, Sockets, water heater. (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. The gasman

    The gasman Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Southampton
    if the rcd will not trip, you have no power. The fridge lamp may glow but is the fridge working? What is your mains lead connected to? are you sure that is on? Do you have (or can borrow) another mains lead?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. emmitdb

    emmitdb Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thanks fellas,

    You've provided me with something to help me freeze to death tomorrow morning!!!
    I was intending to put the heater on a timer and have it tripping on for 15mins each hour through the night rather than draining down but I've bitten the bullet and pulled, or is pushed the dump valve and dropped the water. I was reluctant to do this because the last time we did we had a few problems with spluttering taps and showers.
    In a 'normal' winter there's no need down here in Cornwall but this weekend promises to be a lot colder than we're used to.

    Once again, many thanks
     
  6. emmitdb

    emmitdb Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Right. Own up.

    Which of you rotten lot has sneaked into my garage when my back was turned and loosened the screw to the neg terminal of my hook up lead four complete turns. C'mon I'm waiting. (till Hell freezes over and that might be tonight)

    Seriously,, how can a threaded screw undo itself sitting idly in a garage for three months. It was OK last time I used it.

    We now have power. Thanks to all contributors.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  7. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    15,218
    Location:
    notloB
    Ah, that's electrickery for you! :eek: It does happen a lot more than you think but well done for finding it. (y)
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,869
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Who really knows.
    We find it a lot while fault finding domestic instalations.

    Once a screw comes loose vibration can loosen it further.
    It may be that the conductor WAS touching the terminal last time used but the screw was already loose.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    It's the mice wot did it.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. emmitdb

    emmitdb Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Location:
    Cornwall
    We've got too much cat sh1t in the garden and under the 'van for mice to want to come calling.:madder:
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page