2 questions: Channel 5 now working and channels for Grand Prix racing!

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by RichardB, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Hi all
    Just had a Snipe2 installed and going away to Scotland tomorrow for a few days.
    I've was looking forward to being able to watch the grand prix on the satellite but Channel 4 isn't showing it live this week - are there any other free channels/satellites that I can pick up that will be showing the grand prix live - not worried about the commentary just pictures...
    Otherwise I will need to take the Sky box to watch it!

    Also, is there any reason why Channel 5 won't work - it just won't give me a picture - its not too much of a loss to not have it but it would be nice if it worked.

    Any advice appreciated.
    Richard
     
  2. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,247
    Likes Received:
    5,044
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Don't think you can get Ch5 on a FTA receiver if you fit a Freesat receiver you will get it.
     
  3. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Its an Avtex TV with Sat built in so thought it should work
     
  4. Ven

    Ven Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    555
    Location:
    West Sussex
    If you can get RTL Germany (we get it on Astra 1 via satellite) they show all races live.
     
  5. Zigisla

    Zigisla Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Fareham, Hants
    I pick up ch 5 with my satfi and vision plus tv. Astra 2
     
  6. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Thanks - I will give that a try and see what I get...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,247
    Likes Received:
    5,044
    Location:
    West Sussex
    That has a FTA receiver you need a Freesat one.
     
  8. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
  9. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    Uk
    I'm in France and lost Channel 5 and ITV4 ,now we have moved further north we're getting everything on FTA reciever.
     
  10. Theonlysue

    Theonlysue Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Essex
    I bought a free sat avtex last year. Never had channel 5.
    Also the guide has never worked particularly well. :-(
     
  11. Jenben

    Jenben Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Location:
    Uk
    We get channel5 (plus 5hd C5+1 and C5+24, 5usa) ok on our alphatronics TV with basic FTA tuner. Just turned it on to check but nothing worth watching on it at this time of the morning though:)

    You might need to do a full scan or specifically add Astra2 10964 H 22000
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Jenben

    Jenben Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Location:
    Uk
    For F1 you can also try Eurosport 1DE on Astra1. They sometimes show F1 and Moto GP, though selected races are on Eurosport 2 de which Is encrypted (or might be 2 is free, 1 is encrypted....can't remember!)
     
  13. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,247
    Likes Received:
    5,044
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I think that is the answer you have to make sure you are on the right frequencies.
     
  14. Ven

    Ven Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    555
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Sue,

    I had the same problem. If you go in to TV Setup and find the Channel List/ edit section you can search (it's a long list) for other Channel 5's, I'd did this and found one that did work and then moved it up the list.

    It's simpler than I've made it sound I'm sure ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Avtex do not make a Freesat receiver - just free to air.
    And so you will not get a full 8 day programme guide that Freesat has, just "now and next" programme information

    Eurosport DE is free on Astra 1, but do not have any F1 rights. Eurosport DE have Moto GP rights (Eurosport 2 DE is pay)
    RTL, free on Astra 1, has qualy and race live.

    As for Channel Five, you may have an old list in your receiver.
    They used to operate about 4 regional versions of Channel Five for regional advertising.
    The year they got rid of these and operate only one.
    They are still on the same frequency as they have been for a few years, but you may be trying to use one of the discontinued Channel Five regions...so look in your channel listy for the working one.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Thanks for all the help. Sat in the van in Edinburgh and watched the race on RTL

    Channel 5 is strange. I can get channel5 plus 1 but nothing I try can get the actual channel5

    Richard
     
Loading...

Share This Page