12volt solar panel lead advice (1 Viewer)

Jan 5, 2017
brinklow warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Romahome duo hylo
Exp
since 2016
Ive been lucky enough to be given a 5watt solar panel, unfortunately the lead with a cigarette lighter style plug isn't long enough to reach my leisure battery plug, can I buy an extension lead and if so what type? Please bear in mind I'm a beginner at this , so dummies replies would be best for me lol, your help would be appreciated

OP
OP
patricia the newbie
Jan 5, 2017
brinklow warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Romahome duo hylo
Exp
since 2016
Oh, unfortunately my van is soo small, mini, micro, campervan, that I struggle to store things, so, what would you recommend I do? Could I just start my van and leave it ticking over to charge my battery? Would that work? all I need to run is a cool box, the tap for the water, recharge lights and phone when required plus my Avtex tv and that's it

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Running the engine for 5 mins will put more power in then that panel will do in a day or two...
A good or new battery should do what you want, especially if you bought a used van and dont know the history of the leisure battery, Also fit the largest you can get in the space. (y)

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Oh, unfortunately my van is soo small, mini, micro, campervan, that I struggle to store things, so, what would you recommend I do? Could I just start my van and leave it ticking over to charge my battery? Would that work? all I need to run is a cool box, the tap for the water, recharge lights and phone when required plus my Avtex tv and that's it

Running the engine sounds like your only option if you can't hook up.

5W might manage 0.25A, your alternator can manage 100A.