12v Power Socket For Tv

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by namwaldog, Jun 25, 2015.

  1. namwaldog

    namwaldog Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    715
    Location:
    Cumbria
    I have just fit our 12v/240v TV into a locker and having done so moved it too far away from the existing 12v sockets for the lead to reach. The dilemma I face is should I just use a trailing 12v socket like this one.......
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/331567117094?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    which will look a little untidy unless routed through cupboards etc

    OR

    Fit a socket like this one....
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12V-Water...249?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item233d246731

    and hardwire it.

    The preferred fitting site for the socket is on the side of the locker and is very close to a spotlight like this....
    20150620_113510.jpg

    Bearing in mind the TV has a power consumption of 36 watts, would the wiring to the lights be of sufficient size to take the extra load? According to the handbook (Lunar Roadstar 720) these 'eyeball reading lights' are rated at 15 watts. I have not, as yet, had sight of the cables running to these lights so cannot describe the colour code / thickness of them.

    Whilst on this subject, has anyone any idea how to remove this type of light fitting? There is a slot where the aluminium meets the black plastic base which I imagine you would put a flat blade screwdriver and twist but I am wary of breaking the fitting.

    Thanks
    Barry
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  2. aldhp21

    aldhp21 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    826
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Both links point to the same product.

    Cheers
    Al.
     
  3. namwaldog

    namwaldog Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    715
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Hopefully now edited. Thanks
     
  4. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2,353
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    @namwaldog Different TV, but I faced exactly the same problem regarding an extra socket. Mrs W won't have trailing leads everywhere!

    I used the overhead light as a 12v source. Frequently, you don't have to dismantle the lamp body; the supply is accessed via the locker where the cables enter the back of the lamp. There is normally a plastic cover plate over the cable entry to prevent cable abrasion or damage when clothes etc are stuffed in there. Not sure what your set up is though?

    36 watts at 12v is just 3 amps, so providing you don't overload the socket, it should cope ok. Someone else will correct me if this is not appropriate for your setup. It works ok for me. Hope this helps?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I would consider a Hella plug and socket.
    much safer than a cig lighter socket as the hella has a positive click lock when inserted unlike a cig lighter socket and plug which can slide loose and get hot.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Continent...778?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2a06cdc3fa

    And the plugs

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TRUCK-CAM...525?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item43c35cdfad

    Or the flat type...no protruding plug if fitted under a cupboard etc.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12V-24V-H...900?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item43bcae1064
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Agree with pappajohn

    install a new Hella socket.. you can feed it from the back of the existing 12v socket rather than using the light circuit.. never a great idea.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. gibbon

    gibbon Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    326
    Location:
    Shatterford
    In our last van I took power from a 12v spot lamp that we never used by using insulated spade connectors & a 3amp fused positive.
    I used shrink wrap to keep everything neat.
    12v telly/DVD worked great, fuse never blew, never had to plug in or unplug anything.
    In our current van it's the same telly, but I've been able to mount it close to the sockets so not bothered to hardwire.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Why use a socket at all ?
    Hard wire it via an in line fuse.. job done
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. namwaldog

    namwaldog Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    715
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Thanks for all the replies. I've just had a couple of hours in the van taking various things to bits to identify a route for any possible cabling and think I have worked it out. I reckon it will be a run of about 5 metres. Should I go for flat twin cable at 0.5mm at 11amp or 0.75mm at 14 amp. The TV has a power consumption of 36 watts so a draw of 3 amp?
     
  10. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Basic rule.. always go for tghe thickest you can reasonably use ..A 5 metre run is not overly long and either size will proly do just fine.. I just prefer to make sure as much juice as possible gets out the end !
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page