12v Advise

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by MIN663, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. MIN663

    MIN663 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Hi all, After the good advise i got re my solar panel/regulater need a bit more help. My hymers got no 12v sockets, question is do i fit some if so how easy a job is it? Is there any diffrence between the cigar lighter types and the 2 pin square types apart from the obvious. Or do i get an inverter. Main use will be charge a laptop and when the better half wants to dry/straighten her hair apart from the lights. I realise that if i go down the socket route i will have to buy 12v hair dryer etc. Have one 110ah battery which is new and no room to link another to it. Cheers Min:thumb:
     
  2. david price

    david price Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Bridgenorth
    Hi.12v sockets are easy to fit.
    I ran mine direct from leisure battery and fitted an inline fuse.
    Get all the bits from halfords .
    Dave
     
  3. david price

    david price Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Bridgenorth
    Just noticed we share some interests.Vinyl records and scooters.:Smile:
    dave
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    No 12v sockets :Eeek:
    how do you manage when you arent on hookup ?

    fitting sockets where you want/need them could be a labour intensive job....stripping cupboards/lockers etc to route cables.

    if there are no existing sockets there may not be provision for extra 12v wiring in the fuse box so could mean wiring direct from the leisure battery with a fuse in the circuit.

    the 2 pin plugs are far better than cig lighter sockets in as much as the contact is more secure and positive.

    both are usually rated at 10amp so no difference there.

    dont know the wattage of a mains hairdrier but if its around 1000watt it will draw around 10amps from the battery through an invertor and will be ok for a short while but knowing how long it takes to dry a female barnet it could hammer the battery.

    is it possible to fit a socket or two close-ish to the battery then you could use a 12v extension lead and not need to remove furniture.

    as for a 12v hairdrier:Doh:........have a couple of nice, hot coffees then breath on her hair......it'll dry faster.:Wink:
     
  5. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    Hi

    Just a word of warning about 12v hair dryers, my OH reckons they are as much use as a chocolate fire guard.

    (sorry john you beat me about hair dryers)


    Dave:thumb::thumb:
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2009
  6. MIN663

    MIN663 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Go for 3 out of 3 my names Dave to:thumb:
     
  7. MIN663

    MIN663 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall

    Hi Pappajohn, only had hymer few months and only managed a couple of weekends away (on hook up) so still figureing out electrics.
    So i take it for what i need to use battery for id be better off going down the inverter route, Like the coffee idea though:Rofl1:
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Yep !!!

    id look for an invertor around twice the power output you think you'll need.

    it'll run cooler and shouldnt cut out due to overheating/overloading.:thumb:

    but keep an eye on your available/remaining battery power.
     
  9. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi pappa, think you missed a "0" out, :BigGrin:

    Olley
     
  10. MIN663

    MIN663 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thanks for your help pappajohn,

    I reckon ill need 300watt using your sums was thinking pure sine wave (laptop use) any makes / places to buy from you can recommend. Cheers Min
     
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Oh Bugger !!!!

    good job i said 'watch your available power':Doh:
     
  12. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    83.333333333333333 amps actually John but who is counting
    10-15 mins to completely flatten a battery so do forget that idea.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2009
  13. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    A dc-dc converter will run the laptop more efficiently around £17 off evilbay
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    yeah!!!

    i was thinking 12's into 100 not 1000 hence 10amps instead of 100amps.

    Min....by my calculations you'll need at least a 1500watt invertor but i got my sums wrong.:Doh:.....you'll have a dead battery in 15minutes so go back to the 12v sockets option or find a home for a second or possibly third battery....

    sorry.
     
  15. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,155
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    One arrived today !

    Got it on ebay - new Stirling stock listed at £230 on their web site, I got it for £100. There's another on right now.
     
  16. barryd

    barryd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Yorkshire Dales
    Im no expert on electrical stuff and the guys posting on here will know better than me but I do know from experience how to conserve battery power. I use a laptop all the time and as I am a real miser about power and we do loads of wild camping I wont have an invertor. I bought a 12v universal laptop charger/power supply from Maplin. there are two here in-car laptop : Maplin Electronics and as we have a front dinette I sling the lead over the front seat and plug it in the cab (engine) cigar socket so its not draining the leisure battery (and its the nearest socket as the ones in the back lounge are too far to reach to the front table). What I also sometimes do is charge the laptop up from the front socket while I am driving (charges to full in no time) and then use the laptop on its batteries for a couple of ours, then I can sit where I like in the van with it and just hook it up to power when it gets low. Just bought some LED bulbs which are great as well and use a fraction of the power of normal ones. got them from www.campercare.co.uk the chap there was really helpful as it turned out I needed a special type of bulb for my spots and without his help I would have ordered the wrong ones.

    The only other 12v appliance we use is the sat dome, receiver and small LCD tv which doest use a great deal of power. We dont have solar or a generator and just one 110AH battery and so far we have stayed out for weeks on end without hookup but we do drive about a lot.

    As far as the hair dryer is concerned, ban it. I have. Drive off to get a paper or something and tell her to stick her head out of the window!:Laughing:

    Barry
     
  17. MIN663

    MIN663 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Hi pappajohn, Gonna fit a 12v 2 pin socket wired direct to battery (as you mentioned in your previous post) What size wire will i need and what size in line fuse. Cheers Min
     
  18. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    it depends how far from the battery you fit it.....

    as a guide i'd use MINIMUM 10amp wire if it's pretty close and 10amp fuses

    the further away, the thicker the wire but still a 10 amp fuse.
    if the wire isnt thick enough it could overheat.

    I dont understand the wire gauge sizes (.17gauge .14gauge etc) so best go to a motoring/caravan shop and tell them what you want to do.......but not halfrauds, they aint got a clue if it isnt in a packet or box.
     
  19. MIN663

    MIN663 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thanks for the info Pappajohn ill let u know how it goes, Min:thumb:
     
  20. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,476
    Likes Received:
    16,961
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    use good quality fuses as well.....

    cheap chinese ones have been known to melt and still not blow.:Eeek:
     
Loading...

Share This Page