Anyone been - Provence in April? (1 Viewer)

May 19, 2015
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
6 years
hi
We are planning a just over two week holiday from 1st April (I work in a school). Has anyone been at this time of year? Weather looks like it could be anything at all pretty much. Is it still worth going? Sites are just opening up. We have not yet stayed at an aire so may well try as they may be quieter than summer. Last Easter we went to north of Scotland which we enjoyed but weather was grim at times. We have been to Provence with our tent in July and August when it is really too hot for me but the markets etc were fantastic with all the fresh produce available at this time. I am thinking we may get some warmish weather and be able to walk etc but I suppose it will not have the vibe of peak season ... I would be interested to hear if anyone has been at this time and what they thought.
My ideal time to go would be mid-May - roll on retirement in a couple of years!!

sedge

Funster
Jul 7, 2009
Nr Jct 3 M6
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Aug 09 to date 9,000 miles!
We've had brilliant weather all over France at that time of year so I don't see it being any different. The lavender won't be flowering though so sleep may not come as easily - and I should imagine if it decides to be windy and it's coming off the top of the Alpes de Provence - it might be a tad 'brisk'. Oh and the Verdon will be a bit cool for skinny dipping! But there again - it always is.

Not sure whether it's a particularly 'fleuri' part of France - which I always love to see around that time of year. Olive trees in flower are not exactly a stunning view LOL However most campings will be 'well' open then and the aires will be anyway, so you'll have plenty of choice there - and I'd think better for sightseeing - Riez is a 'right old' place and one day we just happened to go through there when a Medieval themed market was on - and spent hours and hours there - so we never got any further at all that day!