Help with first trip to Europe.. Please .... (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Be gentle we are newbies ..

Only had our van for a few weeks but are desperate to go over to Europe. Would really love to get something booked in the next few weeks.

We really haven't much of a clue where to start ! We did spontaneously jump in a large Transit van and head over to Germany many years ago when we took a bike over to the Nurburgring . Went ok but we got shafted on ferry costs as we did it with short notice.

Brittany is looking favorable as a destination . We just want to get away from the bloody awful weather for a few weeks.

So who or which ferry company is best to book with ? We have joined the Camping and caravan club but not sure if we can get discounts through them or mentioning them when we try to book ?

Truth is this is a bit daunting so would like to get stuck in and get the first European trip under our belts.

I think Portsmouth to St Malo might be better just now with the chaos at Dover. I think Portsmouth is easier for us anyway.

Thanks.

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
We always found the cost a lot higher for the longer crossings so depends how big an issue cost is also we go shorter so its less time for the dog on his own. If you go after the end of the French holidays will be a lot quieter and make sure you try some aires.

David

Jun 11, 2011
Somerset
Funster No
MH
hymer s820
Exp
hya Charlie if you ring C & Cc you will get a good deal on the ferry or tunnel, from wherever, don't do it online as you can't haggle

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Charlie

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Cost is always a factor. But at the moment Dover Calais is just not on the cards .