Water pump and heater question (1 Viewer)

Kevingrc

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Burnley
Funster No
MH
Majestic 155
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all, got our first MH and taking our first trip on Tuesday, had help off you already(much appreciated) and was after some more please, do you leave the water pump and water heater on all the time when on site? We will be on EHU,thanks in advance sorry if this is a daft question .
Kevin

Dec 11, 2011
Nr Hastings, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail Tracker RL
Exp
since 2010
Kevin,
We switch the water pump & water heater on whenever we stop for the night - whether on EHU or not. Clearly, if we are not on EHU then the water heater will be running on gas.
Bill
P.S. there are no daft questions!
P.P.S. we tend to 'overnight' and not park up for days at a time hence we don't switch things on and off.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

RowleyBirkinQC

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 20, 2014
Dazed & Confused
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2007
We tend to turn the water pump off when we are not with the van. As its a pressurised system, if the pump detects a demand, such as a leak (loose pipe etc), it will just keep on pumping.

With the electric water heater, we tend to follow a similar pattern or turn it off in periods when we know hot water demand will be low (water in boiler stays hot/warm for a considerable time). Not sure why, just a habit now coupled with no idea what the life of the heating element is likely to be I guess?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

grasscutter

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 11, 2009
East Wittering. West Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis i588
Exp
Started in 1980
We leave our water pump switched on all the time. The only time we turn it off is when the system is drained down.
The water heater depends on your Eco outlook. We use ours first thing in the morning and then as and when for washing etc.
A bit wasteful to be on all day if you are not using it.
(y)

Upvote 0

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire