LIFE MEMBER
Apr 30, 2008
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
15 years
We are wanting to buy and fit an oven in our Hymer, it will fit in the draw spac,e will need to lose 2 drawers), just not sure if Smev are better than Spinflo, most German/French vans are fitted with Smev's, how good are Smev's?
Thanks

BobT

Free Member
Jun 15, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Ovens

SMEV are Italian. Many Italian homes do not have a oven, they are not as usual as over here. I used to be a sales agent selling components to the European market and I believe that Spinflo (now Thetford) make the best ovens.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Never had a Spinflo so can't really give a fair comparison

The SMEV we had in the RV was a decent cooker.. can't really fault it, it was used full time for three years and wasn't new when we bought the RV .. probably about five - eight years old then.

Only issue we had, mostly of our own making was the grill burner rusted through and fell off .. this was probably caused by letting water boil over and fall onto the burner during cooking.. . :RollEyes:

Best advice is to go and look at them.. get a hands on feel ..SMEV are now part of the Dometic Group.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
My experience is that the Smev seems to maintain a more accurate heat than the Spinflo, and the Smev seems to get hotter. However based on a very small sample as I have only ever had one Spinflo. It would be really brilliant if one of them could bring out a fan oven (12v fan of course)

DESCO

Free Member
Mar 11, 2009
London
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
18 years +12 years tugging