Need help from scratch re an RV in the USA

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by lauraels, Feb 19, 2009.

1. lauraels

lauraels Deleted User

Hello. At last my long held fantasy of going to the USA, buying an RV and travelling around for a year or so, are in my sights! However, I am a complete novice, only having borrowed my mum and dad's camper van once or twice over the last few years.

:cry:The excitement now is being overcome by the questions. I am planning on flying to Boston, as I have a friend of a friend there. Does anyone have any contacts or recommendations on buying an RV in the States? I will be travelling on my own, but with friends visiting on and off, so was thinking of one with a static bed, and preferably a kitchen at the rear. Have just also been looking at the fifth wheel trailers, and thought that could be another way to go, although that means 2 purchases - the trailer and a pick-up. Will I be able to register a vehicle to my friends address, with only a tourist visa? Will I be able to insure and drive it on only a normal british driving licence? I must sound mad!

I suppose an ideal situation would be to team up with a dealer that I could buy from on the proviso that they will buy it back - to rent is £11,000 for 6 months(!), so I do think buying and selling may be the better way to go - do you?

2. Losos

Losos Read Only Funster

Sorry, I can't help with any of the questions you've put in your post but if i were you I would be asking one slightly more important question which is:-

"Will I be able to enter the United States' as a tourist and stay for as long as i want ? "

My understanding is that entry to America has recently been tightened up, if you're not entering to work you may have to show acceptable means of support, ie have lots of $$$$$ with you when you go :Cool:

I'm sure that won't be a problem for you but it might be as well to make sure.

3. IanH

IanH Read Only Funster