Need help from scratch re an RV in the USA (1 Viewer)

L

lauraels

Deleted User
Hello. At last my long held fantasy of going to the USA, buying an RV and travelling around for a year or so, are in my sights! However, I am a complete novice, only having borrowed my mum and dad's camper van once or twice over the last few years.

:cry:The excitement now is being overcome by the questions. I am planning on flying to Boston, as I have a friend of a friend there. Does anyone have any contacts or recommendations on buying an RV in the States? I will be travelling on my own, but with friends visiting on and off, so was thinking of one with a static bed, and preferably a kitchen at the rear. Have just also been looking at the fifth wheel trailers, and thought that could be another way to go, although that means 2 purchases - the trailer and a pick-up. Will I be able to register a vehicle to my friends address, with only a tourist visa? Will I be able to insure and drive it on only a normal british driving licence? I must sound mad!

I suppose an ideal situation would be to team up with a dealer that I could buy from on the proviso that they will buy it back - to rent is £11,000 for 6 months(!), so I do think buying and selling may be the better way to go - do you?

Losos

Free Member
Feb 17, 2009
Suffolk & Czechland
Funster No
MH
Looking to buyi
Exp
N/a
Sorry, I can't help with any of the questions you've put in your post but if i were you I would be asking one slightly more important question which is:-

"Will I be able to enter the United States' as a tourist and stay for as long as i want ? "

My understanding is that entry to America has recently been tightened up, if you're not entering to work you may have to show acceptable means of support, ie have lots of $$$$$ with you when you go :Cool:

I'm sure that won't be a problem for you but it might be as well to make sure.

Upvote 0

IanH

Free Member
Apr 6, 2008
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp