Consumer unit/ B2B help needed (1 Viewer)

Mr Meenah

Free Member
Jun 27, 2018
Oxfordshire
Funster No
MH
'10 lwb Sprinter, project
20190511_175020.jpg
I'm surprised I even got this far as I have no previous experience but it charges and inverts and switches so I must of done something right..inserts smug face.
This is the AC Side of things set up in he workshop before I find a place for it in the van. At the moment the Shore power goes straight into the Charger/inverter without being protected. The Consumer unit ( connected to AC out ) has a red lamp on it that lights up if the polarity is reversed as is the case on some foreign campsites. Logic would tell me I need to connect shore power to the consumer-unit and the consumer-unit to charger/inverter. This however would mean I need another consumer unit between the inverter and the living area. Is this right?
Also which side of the isolator switch does the +ve from the B2B charger go?

Abacist

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 15, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
N & B Arto 88F Tag
Exp
since 2013
Surely the first thing the shore mains must be wired into is Residual Current Device Trip then to the charger/inverter.
On my van I don't have a charger/inverter but I have a separate inverter and the 240 volts produced by it goes to an RCD trip before the consumer unit and the external mains goes first to an RCD trip then to the surge protection device then to the consumer unit.

OP
OP
Mr Meenah

Mr Meenah

Free Member
Jun 27, 2018
Oxfordshire
Funster No
MH
That's what logical to me too. Do you have a picture of your set-up?

What side of the battery isolator would you put the feed from the B2B feed?

Apr 27, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
Since the 80s
Because the mains is potentially lethal, you have to think carefully about all possible scenarios that might arise in the future, including the possibility that someone else who doesn't know how it's wired will be setting it up and using it.