Boxer 2008 MOT Advisory "Rear Susp Prescribed Area damaged" (1 Viewer)

Dionysius

Free Member
Jul 3, 2020
Funster No
MH
Looking...
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi
Looking to buy a van - seen a van I like look of but its some distance away and the only one of this specific model within our price range.

Its a Boxer 2008 MWB panel Van.

Checked MOT History Online and theres a slightly strange advisory from last year and 1,000 miles ago

"
  • Rear Suspension spring mounting prescribed area damaged but not considered excessive all (5.3.6 (a) (i))"
Ive seen "prescribed area corroded but not excessive" meaning rust but not "damaged"

As far as I am aware this newer shape of Boxer are galvanised so dont suffer the corrosion/rust issues that the earlier shape ones do.

Any ideas what this advisory could be ?

Dorsnt appear on the next advisory.

Photos of van look extremely clean no rust or other damage I can see on exterior in fact whole van looks mint.

Has done about 80,000 miles.

What is this likely to be and should it concern me ?

Dont want to travel a huge distance to find its rusted out underneath or some other hidden structural damage underneath

Jan 22, 2013
London SE
Funster No
MH
A class Adria vision I707
Exp
since 1971
Get them to photograph under the van in the prescribed area for you to check first,
It could be mechanical damage or corrosion,

Sep 17, 2017
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
Maybe dinged one of the leaf spring attachment points on a high kerb?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Apr 12, 2012
N/E Lincs
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Rienza
Exp
as above
It does seem an odd advisory. I wonder if a jack has been put in the wrong place at some time.
Our first van conversion rotted around the rear spring hanger mounting because the shower drain was leaking. Being under the shower tray we knew nothing about it until the rust appeared underneath.

Sue and Rick

Free Member
Apr 20, 2022
Brighouse, UK
Funster No
MH
Autoquest 155 2016
Exp
Since 2020