Adjustment of TV's, dishes etc.

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by US2UK, Jul 9, 2011.

  1. US2UK

    US2UK Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    After 10 years touring North America, our Motorhome is now on it's way to UK. Lots of conversions are required, and most are being attended to on arrival. However, I have not yet found out if American TVs, dome dishes etc. are compatible to UK spec. :Eeek: Can anyone give advice ?
    If the equipment can be converted, any recommendations ?
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    not sure about the dish but the TV wont work....the yanks use a different system to the uk.
    we use PAL and the americans use NTSC


    the US sat receiver may/will have the wrong transponder codes installed but could possibly be re-hashed within the menu to receive european TP's.

    both TV's and receivers are cheap enough in the UK.
     
  3. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Most American TV's as far as I recall are NTSC system which are not normally compatible with the European systems which are PAL. However if you are lucky it may be a "multi-system" tv, but with the US kit I would be surprised.

    The actual sat dish should work, it is just a parabolic receiver, our ships dish works world wide, but you may need a different decoder and possibly LNB..

    I'm sure someone will come along with more enlightening info soon....:thumb::thumb:
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    To add what has already been advised..

    If it's an automatic sat dish then from what I recall from another Fun member's question on the same topic it was going to cost more to convert the software than to buy new .. I'll look for the thread ..

    Personally I would ditch all the US kit .. not only is it the wrong voltage,( not a big issue as you can convert from 110v to 230v ) .. but it's also the wrong frequency .. ie 60 rather than 50hz .. it's just not worth the expense of conversion.
     
  5. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,533
    Likes Received:
    5,587
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    My American KH dome fell into that catagory Jim
    About £100 more for a new system with warranties etc than converting:Doh:
     
Loading...

Share This Page