Zorin o.s.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by tick59, Mar 30, 2014.

  1. tick59

    tick59 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,288
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +1,204
    :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
    HAS ANYONE USED "ZORIN O.S."?????????
     
  2. simbadog

    simbadog Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,328
    Location:
    Wengen
    Ratings:
    +2,304
    No, I use Andrex :Smile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,936
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +22,032
    I had a play when I was last evaluating Desktop Linux.

    I decided to go with Linux Mint Xfce edition. Been working great for me the last 2 years. Coming up to re-evaluation time to see what's out there though and Zorin is one I will be looking at again.

    I will specifically be looking at it because it is supposed to be a good replacement for ex XP users. I have a few users on XP and some of them are ideal for moving over to Linux for lowered support requirements.
     
  4. tick59

    tick59 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,288
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +1,204
    :roflmto::roflmto:
    PUT IT ON PC ALONGSIDE XP. LOOKS GOOD AND USING IT NOW VERY MUCH LOOKS LIKE XP AND YOU CAN CHANGE HOW IT LOOKS AND WORKS.FUN!!!FUN!!!FUN!!!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,350
    I'm waiting on it downloading .. it's painfully slow.. and will try on a lappy that has XP which I use solely for viewing an LDS 1881 Scotland census disc that won't run on W7 ..

    maybe it will support the viewer.. if so, I'll get rid of XP

    Did you have any issues with drivers ??
     
  6. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9,181
    Wasn't Zorin Industries a front for a James Bond villain?:Eeek:

    Can't remember which film though!::bigsmile:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9,181
    Here we go-

    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Max_Zorin

    So therefore by using Zorin OS, you are allowing your computer to be manipulated by an unscrupulous international organisation bent on world domination.:Eeek:

    A bit like Windows 8 then really!:roflmto:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,305
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,615
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,936
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +22,032
    If it is a Windows program then no it won't run on linux unless you use something like Wine or Crossover in which case it may run.

    The software however should run under W7 if you run it in compatibility mode. There are ways to trick the program into thinking it is running under Windows XP and provide a compatibility layer for that application.
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,350
    It won't run in Windows 7 64bit .. even in compatibility mode.. believe me , I have tried.

    there is a workaround which I decided wasn't worth the effort and instead used the census discs in the xp laptop ..

    From Product Support
    what I am doing is keeping XP just for that program and running a dual boot machine with Zorin
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,300
    Location:
    Heavan
    Ratings:
    +15,230
    Jeez bill. .. when did you get clever
     
  12. tick59

    tick59 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,288
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +1,204
    :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
    Jeez bill. .. when did you get clever .NOT CLEVER JUST NEED NEW O.S.AS XP IS FINISHING SOON AND I CAN'T AFFORD NEW COMPUTER.(POOR PENSIONER) FUN!!!FUN!!!FUN!!!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,350
    Not for me I'm afraid.. :thumbdown:

    Been playing with it for a few days and had too many problems .. main ones being

    1, couldn't get my wireless card to work, despite downloading the recommended driver..
    2. Couldn't load my wireless printer software..

    and as already mentioned, it wouldn't run the Folio viewer for the 1881 census discs I used with XP.

    I was going to run dual boot but, in light of these problems I have ditched it..


    I'm sure it is a fine OS.. just not for me ,,

    I don't mind getting "the hood up'' and having a go.. but I'm not rebuilding the engine..

    Have now installed Windows 7 Ultimate ..
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014

Share This Page