ZIG UNIT charging "car" battery while hooked up? (1 Viewer)

hayabusabart

Banned
Feb 13, 2014
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
Burstner T615
Exp
since 2014
Hi all. Newbie here. Not long purchased an old Elddis Autoking 570. Needed a fair bit of sorting out one of which was the old failed Zig unit which I have successfully replaced with a ZIG CF9 unit. Everything works fine.

The question is.. Does the ZIG unit charge the "car" battery while its hooked up to 240v?

I know that is maintains a charge to the leisure battery and provides 12v through the transformer but puzzled if its "topping up" the car battery too?

absolutely nothing mentioned in the fitting and use instructions I downloaded..

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
hi and welcome.

i believe the unit is capable of that but it rather depends if you have the wirring in place.

extract from O'Leary motorhomes

Zig CF9 Charging System
Charging and Distribution System for Caravans, all Recreational Vehicles and Boats, with 230V and 12V outputs for refrigerator. Features: Automatic charging control, Mains battery charging up to 12 Amps, Charging from vehicle or boat generator, Mains to 12V conversion - up to 4.5 Amps continuous, Switched selection of source, car/boat or auxiliary battery, Multiple safety protection devices. Designed for use with 60Ah or greater leisure battery or batteries permanently in circuit. Full fitting and usage instructions supplied. Screw terminal connections at rear. Dimensions: Panel 293 x 105mm, Case 275 x 75 x 150 deep approx. Suitable trip box available in the Electrical System category. Please Note: It is strongly recommended that the refrigerator is wired to operate only while the engine is running. The use of a relay such as Zig RM12 is recommended.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Further to the previous post.. a wiring diagram showing the connection and wiring to charge the 'starter' battery

Broken Link Removed