"You have a virus" message popping up. Can anyone help, please ?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Hollyberry, Jan 31, 2019.

  1. Hollyberry

    Hollyberry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,662
    Location:
    Paignton, Devon.
    Ratings:
    +38,654
    Friend has a PC, has anti virus running but not sure what. She keeps getting a message pop up saying viruses on computer. When she tries to shut down the message pops up and prevents the shut down.
    Years since I used a PC, but it sounds like it could be malware she's accidently downloaded ?
    I've suggested installing anti-malware program or possibly resetting her computer to an earlier date, before she had this problem. Are these the best things to try or can anyone suggest simething else ? Thanks.
     
  2. TinaL

    TinaL Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Camberley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +5,904
    Need to know what anti virus software she is running?
    Then go into it run a virus full scan, quarantine (virus Vault) any viruses found and re-start.
    Or download the basic AVG "Free" edition if possible from File Hippo, she may even be offered the fully paid up version free for one month.
    The only time I have ever had to back date the computer from a fully backed up , back up date, is when I have issues with windows or lost an application file, so I would suggest trying to discover the malware and virus vault it first.
    Hope that helps a bit.
    Les
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    34,858
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +32,780
    Wonder how long before some wag says bin it and buy a MAC.
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Baileysbus

    Baileysbus Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1,961
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +2,608
    They’re not immune to malware either these days ....... as I’ve discovered recently :(
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. two

    two Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,003
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +3,090
    Own up,
    is it really a friend who has this problem?
    ;)
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7,470
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Ratings:
    +17,116
    A free anti virus programme like AVG, then back it up with Malwarebytes and Spybot Search and Destroy. What one doesn't find another usually will.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  7. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,439
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +6,461
    If you don't have an ad blocker, the virus message could actually be an ad rather than a system message. They were common a few years ago and were trying to sell antivirus software
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18,585
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +106,160
    Bin it and buy a Mac.
     
    • Funny Funny x 6
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Guigsy

    Guigsy Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +961
    Rather than being a virus (that self spreads), it's far more likely to be malware that has inserted itself from visiting a compromised website from an out-of-date browser.

    If Windows is fully up to date and the anti-virus has the latest signatures, I'd go for an anti-malware program next. I've used Malwarebytes in the past. Just make sure that you are grabbing the software directly from the developer. It's pretty common for dodgy websites to offer downloads of antivirus and malware removal tools that have either been hacked to actually add malware on installation... or just ARE malware that pretends to be useful, but is just to scan your PC.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. chatteris

    chatteris Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +241
    if they hold the button in till pc goes off then turn on again after a while is it still there
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Hollyberry

    Hollyberry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,662
    Location:
    Paignton, Devon.
    Ratings:
    +38,654
    No idea, but that's the method I use for most electrical stuff that decides not to work properly :)
    I'm going to copy the advice given into an email and hope she can sort it out. Lives up north so I'm not nearby to try any of the suggestions given.
     
  12. two

    two Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,003
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +3,090
    If you cannot get rid of it, you could always drown it by putting it in a bucket of water.
    That'd stop the bu**er. :(
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +6,330
    As others have said try running various ad cleaners \ antimalware \ etc .....
    Malwarebytes Free (you just disable the Free Trial in the settings - https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/thankyou/
    AdwCleaner Free - https://www.malwarebytes.com/adwcleaner/
    Anti-rootkit Free - https://www.malwarebytes.com/antirootkit/
    Anti-virus software - (I used to use AVG Free for a number of years but switched to Avast Free when they took over AVG) https://www.avast.com/en-gb/free-antivirus-download
    Spybot - (I use the portable version that doesn't install) https://portableapps.com/apps/security/spybot_portable
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Nice One! Nice One! x 1
  14. busby

    busby Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5,958
    Location:
    derbys
    Ratings:
    +7,827
    I have a Mac and every time i switch on i get two voices telling me my Mac needs scanning which then happens,,it then tells me laptop is infected and needs cleaning and then a message comes up twice try to sell me Mac Cleaner which i have to decline to get on line. Its a bloody nuisance,,BUSBY.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. two

    two Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,003
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +3,090
    I left my Mac hanging in the hall.
    Wish I'd taken it with me. AntiVirus or not, it may stop me catching cold...
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  16. Chris51

    Chris51 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    stoke on trent
    Ratings:
    +460
    I have had this often on my laptop-I press to turn off and it takes quite a while.Today when I turned on a page from Microsoft told me to re-register with password---I turned off -restarted and got straight on---looks like a scam?
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  17. vectian

    vectian Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +210
    It is a malware issue, something to do with Win 32 and on mine I cant find it but it only seems to appear when I go off one of the News stories on one of the sites. Adaware seems the best freebie at finding these things.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. Hollyberry

    Hollyberry Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,662
    Location:
    Paignton, Devon.
    Ratings:
    +38,654
    Thanks, everyone. Ive passed on all the info and hopefully she'll get rid of it.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice