Jan 13, 2015
Switzerland
Funster No
MH
Ford Transit Flash 02
Exp
2014 newbie
Hi

I'm a newbie and brought my Ford Transit Chausson Flash 02 last May 2014. Only 5k on the clock!! but build year 2010. Have had a great time all over Europe, GB and Ireland and very pleased with my compact MH.

HOWEVER, we had a scrape boarding the PO North Sea Ferry and I damaged a plastic side skirt. OK, full insurance, took it to a garage and then---!!!

It transpires that it is a 2010 new Ford Transit with a presumably written off MH body from a Chausson Flash 02. Actually I didn't know it was a Flash 02, as mine is emblazened 'Evolution'. We fould this out, because the repair shop attempted to order the replacement panel from Chausson who said the chassis no. doesn't exist!

Oh dear! I'm worried. However, the MH had a recent 'MOT' which is very stringent here in Switzerland and it passed all OK. Can anyone think of things I might check? I bought it private and although I'm basically pleased with it, I'm still worried.

Gulp!

Alan (Switzerland but British)

Attachments

• manxman.JPG
    manxman.JPG
    86 KB · Views: 29

davejen

Free Member
Aug 21, 2008
Preston
Funster No
MH
Given up travelling
Exp
Since 1992
Hi, sorry to hear about your problems, I would check the V.I.N number, engine number against the registration document, presuming you have that in Switzerland, and take it from there. If they don't match maybe a word with your local traffic police is in order for further investigation......
Best of luck, let us know how you get on.
Cheers, Dave(y)

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
Before you panic make sure the repair shop quoted the correct chassis number.

When Knowepark were ordering the bits for ours we had to give a number from one of the plates inside the bonnet. The number was on the bottom right hand side of the plate.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Manxli