Free Member
Sep 6, 2020
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Burstner T615
Exp
6months
HI I am new to the motorhome community but i am finding a great past time!
One question i would like some help with is with the weather people now saying we are in for a cold snap and that autumn is upon us. What do I need to do to get my van through the winter months ?

cmcardle75

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 8, 2012
Reading
Funster No
MH
Riot Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2012
That's the plan to be honest.
Just wanted to make sure I didnt miss anything that would bite me later onšŸ˜„

There's winterising and winterising. One of the main aspects is where your fresh water and grey water tanks are mounted, inbound or underslung and, if underslung, whether they are insulated or heated in any way. Other things that make a difference are double floors and making sure you have a reliable heating system. If you just want to have it survive winter without dying, that's a whole different set of issues.

Upvote 0

Caggsie1

Free Member
Sep 2, 2013
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2008
Use it all year, only stopping when it snows. Unless weā€™re already away. Usually after Xmas so beginning jan to feb half term Do we tend not to go away. Youā€™ll prob find your heating etc make the Mh nice and toasty. We do however Change to thick duvet which is higher tog, as donā€™t have heating on overnight but do have a small radiator on to keep severe chill off. If really frosty, snow, will put heating on but on very low. Always, regardless of weather have windows on snip.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Bossman Bluey

Bossman Bluey

Free Member
Sep 6, 2020
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Burstner T615
Exp
6months
Thanks Caggsie!
Our plan is to use as much as possible , the southwest where we live has many places we have never seen.
We purchased the burstner for that reason ,as I had read they were well made Van's, but as I say all new to us, we originally cut our teeth on VW s
Some years ago, so a step up with regards to amenities!