DizzyHippy

Free Member
Aug 3, 2020
Funster No
MH
Devon Aztec
Exp
I am a newbie
Hi I am new to owning a motorhome and put a deposit down on a 2008 Devon Aztec at the weekend. I read some previous comments about them only being summer vans. What exactly does that mean? I had hoped to be able to use it March to November at least. In my wee campervan we managed fine late November with a little oil radiator on board and that was a pop top!

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
We have a PVC and they are fine for three seasons use but I suspect if you fancied spending the winter skiing in the mountains it might be a bit uncomfortable.

Compared to a coach built van they generally have much less insulation to keep the place warm.

But welcome to the forum

:hiya2:

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
:welco:
I read some previous comments about them only being summer vans. What exactly does that mean?
The insulation may not be up to the level of a fully winterised van but as long as it has a decent heater that won't be a problem.
The main problem for winter use it that it will probably have uninsulated external tanks. Unless we get a very cold March or November should be OK for your use. You can still get by in very cold weather by leaving the waste valve open draining into a bucket or container & keeping some water in a container inboard although you would have to forgo your morning shower.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Nov 7, 2009
Funster No
You would manage march to October in your Devon Aztec for sure . However @ Lenny HB gave good advise re water tanks etc. As you said you managed in a pop up so you will be fine in your Devon .
good luck and enjoy

OP
OP
D

DizzyHippy

Free Member
Aug 3, 2020
Funster No
MH
Devon Aztec
Exp
I am a newbie