Free Member
Dec 8, 2015
Cambridge
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi we are off to the slopes in January with our motorhome and we are unsure if we should fit winter tyres or not. Some people we know who have lived in snowy wintery climates have said that they are essential whilst others have said just use chains. We know that in Austria they are compulsory but aren't sure whether this only applies to Austrian registered vehicles only and whether we would be exempt in a UK registered motorhome....we are planning to Ski in Austria for about a month. If it is best to have winter tyres fitted we wondered if anyone could recommend somewhere in France that we could have them fitted and at the same time store our normal tyres as we will need to change them back after the ski season (we won't be going back to the UK until August so will need to change them back in France). Any help or advice woukd be very much appreciated. Many thanks, Jackie

Dec 12, 2010
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
since 2011
Search 'winter tyres' on here, plenty folk running them all year, me included. Wouldn't dream of going skiing in Austria without them personally. How much tread have your existing ones got on them ?

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007
I use winter tyres all year-round. I don't ski, but would not consider going into 'skiing country' without them. You will also probably have to carry chains for the driving wheels (mandatory requirement in some countries). As I understand it, local regulations regarding winter tyres / chains apply to any vehicle entering the territory, regardless of country of registration.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

D

Deleted member 36503

Deleted User
Winter tyres and chains are mandatory as Philip has said in certain parts of Europe during winter months.

If your outfit is front wheel drive then I would strongly urge you to carry snow chains.