Free Member
Sep 26, 2018
new forest
Funster No
MH
Sold it!
Exp
I'm a newbie
We all know how simple it is for intruders to open and get through a MH or caravan window. All that's needed is a bent piece of wire. So my idea to prevent this is also very simple and a lot cheaper than anything I've seen on the market. Buy a dozen 2" panel pins which should be just about the right thickness. Find a drill bit that is the right size, make a test hole in piece of scrap wood and test the pins are a snug fit. Close the window catch, drill through the lug and the keep, cut the panel pins to length and insert them, hey presto job done. I appreciate you probably wont be too happy doing this if you have an expensive late model but when the pins are removed and put away somewhere safe then you would be hard pressed to see your handy work My apologies if this has been discussed before, sorry.

TerryL

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 5, 2010
North East
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
I did this a few years ago. Just remember to carry a few spare pins - I keep dropping mine down the back of the seats...............................

The only caveat is that the extra security is not visible from the outside so you may still get some miscreant have a go.

Emmit

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 14, 2009
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Pilote Explorateur
Exp
Jan.2014
I did the same with our X244 front ended (2002-2006) Hobby to the front doors.
I drilled a small hole (rivet sized) through the door card through to the right of the 'pop up' door lock button and included the button. (Don't aim for the middle of the button, there's a steel rod in there).

All that remains when either leaving the van or going to bed is to insert the rivet through the door card and through the button which prevents the door being unlocked.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

Janine

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
A little bit left of Middle England
Funster No
MH
2006 A/S Nuevo
Exp
since 1988