Dec 17, 2011
Reading
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 630g
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi All,

Out this weekend in the rain and noticed that the main window was leaking. Looks like water is getting between the window seal and the bodywork. The water was pouring over the side of the van at the time of the downpour and running down the wall inside the van.

All is now dry but I need to either re-seal or replace the seal. I have a 2003 Swift Sundance 630G. I have see the seals for sale on Ebay but would like to by from an online dealer if possible. Any contact details would be appreciated.

Would you replace or re-seal the seal?

Cheers for the advice :thumb:

Merle

Free Member
Mar 31, 2013
Wiltshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since 2008
Do you have somewhere you can work in the dry because if the water came through it will have soaked the framework and that needs to be dried out before you seal it in. To make a good job you will need to remove the window, dry out all signs of damp and then refit using a new seal. Personally I would you a good quality caravan/motorhome clear sealant to bed the rubber/neoprene seal. If you do not have the facilities or are at all worried have the job done professionally, done wrong WILL result in a rotted out mohome

OP
OP
W

Wollow007

Free Member
Dec 17, 2011
Reading
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 630g
Exp
Im a newbie
Will make sure its nice and dry before I attempt anything. Also make sure everything is dry before I re-seal the seal back or replace the seal itself.

I'm pretty hands on and not worried about taking the window and seal out.

It does look like someone has had a go at sealing it before. All the wood around the window frame looks good, you can peal back the seal inside the van to expose the wooden frame which is still a nice light wood colour. From what I can see once all of the catch lock points are removed the seal is only held in place with some staples and sealant.