Free Member
Jul 11, 2016
devom
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper legend GL
Exp
im a newbie
Thank you all for the welcome to the site.
Would like to attempt wild camping in the south west, loving Dartmoor for the glorious views and the south for the sun shine. Any ideas of overnight spots, good and bad experiences? Loved to hear from you all!

Jan 23, 2016
Wales
Funster No
MH
Adria Coral 660SP
Exp
25 years
No suggestions I'm afraid.

My experience is that much of Devon and Cornwall is covered by local By Laws that prevent overnight camping.

In many ways it is understandable when you observe the number of camper vans being driven round by surfers and otheryounger sports enthusiasts.

The only place I've wild camped undisturbed has been on some of the minor roads over Exmoor.

Upvote 0

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
See - "Although it is convenient to pull into a layby to admire the view and have a cup of tea, overnight sleeping in vehicles at the roadside, or in car parks is not permitted under National Park byelaw No 6."

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

GWG

Free Member
Oct 15, 2015
Paignton, Devon
Funster No
MH
C. Bessacarr 496
Exp
2 years (40 years Caravan)
South Devon very unfriendly for Wild Camping, as so many Campsites that want £30+ per night make a big lobby group on the Council. Especially Torbay. Well known spot is above Battery Gardens in Brixham, but very popular so you lucky to get a spot. Paignton Seafront is £2.50 from 17.00 to 08.00 but camping not allowed so you sleep sitting up with a cuppa in your hand
Most side roads have vans "parked" but you you will get a knock if residents report you sleeping.
Most car parks on Dartmoor are patrolled by the Rangers, so you will get knocked in the night.
Good luck, if you find any gems, keep us posted, although I suspect most Wild Campers keep their favourites secret.

Upvote 0

Jabberwocky

Free Member