WiFi

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by pvw10, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    Most sites have wifi with secure passwords etc.

    Has anybody found a decent repeater booster that i can use on 240 as anything has to be better than my iPhone/ipad ?
     
  2. Ed Excel

    Ed Excel Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Ribble Valley
    Ratings:
    +588
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. bhs

    bhs

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Louth
    Ratings:
    +139
    My bank manager dislikes the iboost
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  4. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +918
    I like the MotorhomeWifi setup but I'm using the following bits:
    • Alfa R36 802.11 B, G N, Repeater And Range Extender For Awus036H, this work on 12v or 240v just needs the adapter.
    • Alfa AWUS036NHR – High-Gain 2000mw 2W 802.11 B/G/N Wireless USB Network Adaptor
    • although the AWUS036NHR comes with a 5dBi antenna, I also bought a seperate CSL 12dBi rod antenna for wifi, made a big difference
    Total cost about 85 pounds. It all works well and lets you setup a wifi connection in and around the van. For me the CSL 12dBi is excellent really made a big difference to the range of the wifi spots I can connect to.

    You can plug a Mobile data USB stick in to the R36 instead of the AWUS036NHR , but I found this a right pain and a bit fiddly (config wise) and now use the Netgear Aircard if no Wifi available and want internet access round the van.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Stamford
    Ratings:
    +1,179
    Motorhome wifi iBoost

    Or...

    [​IMG]

    Might work
     
    • Like it Like it x 5
  6. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,023
    Location:
    West Country and France/Spain
    Ratings:
    +823
    If you just want a repeater rather than a 'booster' I have found the Huawei E5336 to be excellent. It latches onto a weak signal far better than my 'smartphone'. You can also insert a SIM for mobile broadband (it is unlocked). I have used it with excellent results in both France and Spain. It has a rechargeable battery so can be placed anywhere inside the motorhome - I have found up in the rooflight is good when the signal is very weak.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,408
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,923
    I'm using the first generation motorhomewifi hub but with my own antenna
    The repeater is available in Jims shop
    Here at shell island I'm connected to a FON spot a good mile away
    image.jpg
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  8. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,408
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,923
    image.jpg
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,408
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,923
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Stamford
    Ratings:
    +1,179
    Yet again I find myself impressed by your cunning designs. Have you modified an old Status TV aerial or is the pole part of the antenna?
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14,408
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Ratings:
    +18,923
    http://www.motorhomefun.co.uk/forum/threads/diy-through-the-roof-wifi-in-pictures.94136/

    Anyone who has a status aerial that they no longer use due to satellite could so easily fit one of these in its place and presumably will have a 12 volt supply there already from the signal amplifier
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2015
  12. pvw10

    pvw10

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +45
    • Like it Like it x 1

Share This Page