Who do I believe (1 Viewer)

Dec 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
We purchased a 2010 Bessacarr 560 last August with one year’s warranty, a few weeks ago i had a damp check done on it at a local caravan/motor home repairers (which i have never used before).

The report came back that i have a reading of 45% around a skylight and the floor is soft on the off side front corner and near side rear corner, they estimated £1,090 to fix it, So i contacted the dealer where we bought the van from they asked me to send a copy to them, They then asked me to bring the van to them so they could assess it them self, so i have taken the van back to them last Tuesday.

The workshop manager came to see me as they could not get any readings anywhere near the 45%, he took us out to the van and used the damp meter the highest reading he got was 12.9%, we then got under the van to inspect the flooring in the corners. It was solid not soft at all, the only thing i could see was a slight what looked like a water mark in the corner in the o/s/f. They sprayed the area flooring with a body under seal so i am not sure who to believe.

Thanks for reading i am interested in reading any thoughts that you funsters have.

Thanks kev

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
I think for peace of mind in this case I would either buy a damp meter or take it somewhere else for another test if you can afford it.

You need to know one way or another. It’s possible it’s drued out a little due to the warm weather.

Good luck with it and please keep us updated.

captainscarlett

Free Member
Apr 20, 2017
Norfolk/Europe
Funster No
MH
Hobby 725
Exp
10 years
If as you say you witnessed the damp inspection and the floors being solid, i would say you have the answer to your question. It is unlikely a soft sodden floor will be solid a couple of weeks later.
However as @irnbru has advised it would be prudent to try and arrange a further inspection.