Which fridge do you have? (1 Viewer)

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
I've been looking at fridges for the van I am building and, oh dear! They're expensive toys aren't they!? It seems a question of how big of a fortune do you want to spend.

I've read (or watched on YouTube) that 12 volt compressor fridges are the best. But then I have seen absorption fridges too, which seem to be cheaper.

My question is which is best, what fridge do you have and do you like it?

Personally I'd like a freezer (but that's not a must have) and I'm not interested in running it off gas. I only want to run it on 12v from the battery or 240v shorepower. Less gas the better IMO.

Pete5996

Free Member
Sep 18, 2016
Deep in the Lot
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Cheyenne
Exp
Since 2002
I replaced my Dometic 3-way with a Vitrifigo 12v compressor fridge after a string of problems, the summer before last. Performs very well and has been trouble-free ever since - switch it on and it works - that's it!:giggle:

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
It depends where and when you want to use the MH and how many solar panels you can get on the roof.

If you are always going to be on EHU then get a 12 volt compressor fridge or even a 240 volt one.

But if you are going to rely on solar only for power you might need 400W on the roof to cope with a UK winter. Perhaps even considerably more.

If you only plan on using the MH in summer in say Spain you could use a 240v domestic model powered through an inverter.

If you go through any electric only solution you will also need sufficient battery capacity to get through the night. Or turn the fridge off, which you can do if it isn't too warm outside. :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
CamperJack
Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!