Which free anti virus do you use?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by irnbru, Nov 28, 2015.

  1. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,469
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +18,813
    I've just got rid of my talkralk landline so now I have no antivirus software to use when im using other folks wifi through fon.

    What free antivirus do you recommend for laptop and also tablet?
     
  2. Cavs

    Cavs Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +539
  3. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7,971
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +27,711
    Microsoft security essentials
     
    • Like it Like it x 3
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +5,251
    AVG. I have it on my PC, tablet and phone
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  5. Scout

    Scout Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,823
    Location:
    doncaster
    Ratings:
    +23,610
    ditto
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. C200JK

    C200JK Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    Ratings:
    +3,181
    Ditto...#3
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. Shrimp

    Shrimp Funster

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    882
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +1,573
    I always used AVG, always worked well, but must keep it updated!
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. jezport

    jezport Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,234
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    Avast. used it for years.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,848
    Location:
    Yr Wyddgrug
    Ratings:
    +7,265
    AVG(y)

    Ditto...#4​
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,551
    Same here on all our PCs.
    We used to use AVG until it started playing up some years ago (can't recall the details now). We still use it on Android devices though.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12,294
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ratings:
    +20,853
    We use McAfee and Malwarebytes on all of our machines.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7,971
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +27,711
    AVG used to cause my laptop to crash all the time
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  13. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,551
    It may have been that. As I say, I can't recall the details but there was some problem that meant we changed.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,557
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Ratings:
    +10,920
    +1
    Nothing on phone or tablet (haven't had a malware issue - touch wood).
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,092
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,332
    • Like it Like it x 2
  16. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,920
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Ratings:
    +14,283
    MS Essentials for me too. Had Mcafee pre-installed on the new laptop but found it too invasive although to be fair I was struggling with Win8 at the same time before upgrading to Win10.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  17. Mack100

    Mack100 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    here
    Ratings:
    +1,804
    When I got my iMac I was going to put AVG on it just in case I did something daft when I came across all these sites saying that AVG was now classed as spyware itself!
    Apparently it sells your details to cover it's costs as the program is free
    http://www.techeye.net/news/avg-spies-and-sells-private-data-to-advertisers

    Because of this I installed Avast, it seems OK, just waiting to read that Avast is now spyware!

    PS just read that Avast was doing similar stuff until last year but cleaned up its act. Seems you can't trust anyone!
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  18. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +5,251
    Robert, I have been using it for years on the last 3 laptops plus the desktop without any problems. What version of windows were you using?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  19. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    The best 'anti-virus" is OSX ;)
     
    • Like it Like it x 4
  20. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Ratings:
    +5,036
    on my Macbook? no real need :rolleyes:
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
Loading...

Share This Page