Which data sim please?

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by kitetraveller, Mar 26, 2018.

  1. kitetraveller

    kitetraveller Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Ratings:
    +36
    We have a Huawei mifi, with external antenna, and now need some info about which data sim to grab please?

    We are heading to France for a break, and fancy trying the mifi, rather than tethering my work iPhone!

    I don't think we are heavy data users, FB to follow what the kids and grandkids are up to, Whatsapp for bits n bobs, and browsing here etc.

    Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Andy
     
  2. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    11,452
    Location:
    On the coast in West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17,456
    3 data SIM is the best buy usually around £25 for 12 gig. Only gives 3g when roaming not 4g. I find they work fine in France, Germany & Italy but have noticed can be a bit slow at times in Spain.
     
  3. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +659
    If the Mi FI is unlocked....................or can be cheaply unlocked with a code from Ebay then your best bet is the 12gb lasting for 12month sims available from Amazon or elsewhere for about £27.
    Get a couple and I think you are sorted.
     
  4. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2,315
    I think the best price for a 3 data sim is more like £27 for 12 Gb now.
    I found a 24 GB for £45 on Amazon
     
  5. MyrtleGuru

    MyrtleGuru Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Ratings:
    +152
    As long as you are not looking to stream TV/Radio, then I don't think you can beat Three. Otherwise you'd probably be better off buying a local SIM.
     
  6. kitetraveller

    kitetraveller Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Ratings:
    +36
    Thank you!

    3 it is then, just ordered from Amazon.
     
  7. namwaldog

    namwaldog Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,941
    Andy,
    A few practical pointers from my own experience...
    (a) make a note somewhere of the actual number of the sim, or better still, when you receive it, it will be in a plastic credit card size holder that you click the sim out of. There will be two numbers on it, the Sim number and the Three number these are important if you want to contact Three so take the plastic card with you.
    (b) Make sure you press out the correct size of Sim as (I think) they are all pre perforated and if you don't get the correct size, it can be a pig to fit in the Mifi.
    (c) Make sure it is set up for Roaming.
    (d) Before you leave, download the My Three and the Huawei mifi apps to one of the devices you will be using. You can use these to access the Settings you may require.
    (e) Three, because they have to use third party providers will always use the slowest/cheapest and probably 3g. You can access and search for the available providers using the Huawei app.
    (f) If you get stuck try and get to the My 3 site and eventually a little popup will appear at the side with an invite to "Live Chat". I used this recently when in Spain to sort out a problem.
    (g) Lastly and I'll say this not being 100% sure but I think that if you can still access the Three website VIA the MIFI even if you cannot get online. I stand ready to be corrected on this point!
    Good luck and with most modern technology, have a play with it before you actually need it.
    Apologies if I am trying to teach my grandmother how to suck eggs!(y)
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. BreweryDave

    BreweryDave Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,478
    Location:
    On tour!
    Ratings:
    +8,048
    I think 3 have lost it these days when it comes to roaming, too many caps and restrictions. They used to be the best, but no more, for longer term use.
    Vodafone is now the best imho. No caps no throttling and no limits within your package and all 4G on their own European networks, no piggybacking. Been using my full 60GB allowance on the continent since September, tethering and streaming, the lot.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. Smith and Sharp

    Smith and Sharp Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    3,074
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +9,653
    They cap roaming at 9gig but you can use the rest in the uk...

    Agree here, I’ve got the monthly contract of 50 gig for £27 (heavy user) cancel anytime and then just rejoin when we go away and much faster then 3.....
     
  10. kitetraveller

    kitetraveller Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Ratings:
    +36
    Thank you for your notes, all useful and news to me!

     
  11. kitetraveller

    kitetraveller Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Ratings:
    +36
    I will give it a go with the Three data card that is on its way, and if we need to keep using them, we will have a look at Vodaphone as well.

    Thanks for the pointers.
     
  12. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,034
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +1,633
    I’ve just got my PAC code from Three, am about to switch to Vodafone, thanks for the info, as it answers all of my questions!
    Mobiles.co.uk are offering 20gb/month for £12.00 (after cash back).
    Worth the little bit of hassle for such a good deal(y)

    D4DE29C4-A7A4-4B5C-B2B1-28E95B0CF4AE.png
     
    • Like it Like it x 2
  13. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +659
    The other problem I am now having with 3 in Europe is finding a signal from whoever their partners are.

    Go to manual settings and get a list of signals but then have to decide which is 3..............keep checking and getting failed connection until I select the correct one. Is there a list of their partners anywhere ???

    All the time so far, I see the Vodafone signal clear and strong...................it was the same when we had the Europasim by Vodafone.Always a strong signal across Europe..................not messing about with partners who probably put you to the back of the queue anyway.

    Also have to keep checking as we approach the 13gb limit.......................hoping their online is accurate as it could be £35 for the extra 7gb to our 20gb contract limit
     
  14. Stroppy Bird

    Stroppy Bird Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +698
    It used to be on their website under each different country listing. Unfortunately they removed it sometime ago. So I think it is now a case of phoning and asking or manually trying the different ones that pop up.

    This website does give a list of partners though it may have changed since it was created as it is showing as page last updated sept 2016

    https://www.choose.co.uk/guide/three-feel-at-home-use-abroad.html

    Here's another which may be a bit more up to date

    https://kenstechtips.com/index.php/threes-feel-at-home
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Ingwe

    Ingwe Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    371
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +348
    What Vodafone package are you using please? We've been using 3 but agree that it's not great when roaming. 60GB sounds like the capacity we'd need for streaming radio 4 when in France and Spain.
     
  16. BreweryDave

    BreweryDave Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,478
    Location:
    On tour!
    Ratings:
    +8,048

Share This Page