Which axle stands (1 Viewer)

RichardandKaren

Free Member
Oct 4, 2017
Leamington Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido 786F
Hi all - I am new to motor homing and have been reading about the need to grease my al-ko rear axle. I believe it is best done with the wheels off the ground to ensure that the grease penetrates to all the correct places. My question is this - I have two 2 tonnes rated axles stands which I use for my cars. My van weighs circa 3,100 Kg so will my stands be Ok just to lift the rear end ( assuming that not all the van's weight is therefore being lifted) or do I have to buy stands that are rated over 3 tons?

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
2 tons per stand should be adequate.
The 2 ton rating is the safe working load (SWL) and will probably take more but as you will be under the van I would take extra precautions such as wide wooden blocks under the wheels so if it should slip or the stands fail it will land on the blocks, not on you.
Don't forget to securely chock the front wheels as well.

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010
Good advice from John
You do not need both wheels off the ground at once! each side is separate, just unweight the one being greased.

Last edited:
Apr 27, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
Since the 80s
Check the rating of your axle stands. All the ones I've seen are rated PER PAIR. So single stand of '2 tonnes' rated pair will take 1 tonne only.

The rear axle usually carries more than half of the MH weight, so for a 3100 kg it's likely to be carrying nearly 2 tonnes.

You do not need both wheels off the ground at once! each side is separate, just unweight the one being greased.