Which Alarm/tracker Or Both? And Who To Install (1 Viewer)

Violet1

Free Member
Jul 4, 2015
March, Cambs
Funster No
MH
semi-integrated
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hi all,
Can anyone advise me through the minefield of alarms and tracking systems?
Am new to m/hing and just about to collect new home from Germany. Also need to get UK certificate of conformity if anyone can suggest a dealer

Jul 12, 2013
The City of Henlow
Funster No
MH
Adria Supreme
Exp
Since 1980
Trackers...... If your motorhome cost more than £60,000, there is a fair chance that you will be required by your insurance company to have a tracker fitted.
Trackers are basically mobile phones that 'know' where they are. They can be an inexpensive toy that you fitted, or the kind that has an annual charge plus a substantial initial cost compared to the DIY type.
Only the professionally fitted units with an annual charge (+/- £140+ the Unit and fitting) are usually acceptable by an insurance company; they also have a list of acceptable units. A person will come and fit the unit in a 'secret' place. It may depend upon the van being driven to charge its battery or they can power it directly from your system. Here, having a solar panel or hook-up would be an advantage.
You are supposed to inform the Tracker company if you travel on a ferry when the van moves but not under its own power.
I had mine fitted, by choice, after having had a van stolen. Ironically, my insurance company at the time put UP the premium as my van had been modified, I left that company immediately.