Whats involved in taking the over 3500kg test? (1 Viewer)

kevofcov

Free Member
Jun 8, 2017
uk
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi

Has anybody any experience of taking another test to enable driving over 3500kg. Whats involved, costs etc. Its not for me but for my tin pot lids.

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
From what others have said it costs about £1000+ to do it so not a cheap option.

Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
Thay will need to do driver CPC that's anything from 400/600
Thay will then have to to driver training abut a week's driving another $1000
There probably better doing the hgv 1 but bare in mind that will if thay want to tow a caravan or trailer over 800 kg thay will still have to pass a towing test
My nice is HGV 1 and can't tow a caravan crazy I know but that's the law
Bill
@Gromett will know the full cost of it as I only had to site CPC

May 16, 2014
Ammanford
Funster No
MH
Dethleffs Trend
Exp
since May 2014
Agree with @airwave, no need for Driver CPC but the rest of the test is similar to LGV test just with smaller vehicle. if you have to go to a driving school for this, then you are better off taking the full Cat C test as they cost about the same.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

EX51SSS

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 18, 2015
North Manchester
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis A Class
Exp
since 2007
Hi

Has anybody any experience of taking another test to enable driving over 3500kg. Whats involved, costs etc. Its not for me but for my tin pot lids.
The sooner they do it the cheaper it will be although cost is relative to time.

GWAYGWAY

Free Member
Sep 6, 2014
Dover
Funster No
MH
Hymer ML I 580
Exp
4 years
I think they still need to do the full medical renewal thing, same as a professional driver does to keep the licence going.

Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH