What they don't tell you about the spare wheel on Auto-Trail Apache 700 (1 Viewer)

RM_Marine

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 29, 2021
Poole, UK
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Apache 700
Exp
Since 2021
Hi

I'm new to this and this is my first post and first motorhome

Yes, yes it's a little excessive for a single 38 year old to have a 6 birth MH but it's something which made sense to me for going surfing, cycling and paddle boarding to come back to and to stop roughing it in a T5 or small van seeing I'm 6ft tall and feeling old.

So less about me more about what you don't get told and what I've had to discuss with my mum and dad who have a brand new MH same as what I've brought but mine is 5yrs old.

First..

When you clean it take the sparewheel off and wax behind it and get rid of all the spiders, dirt, leaves etc that collect in your wheel cover

Second...

Make sure you tie the flap to your vehicle as it will fall off if you over tighten making the lock lose (new flap is Ā£140 learnt from experience)

Third...

The wheel cover doesn't have the push on black beading going all the way around like you see on the top of your wheel cover.

Cost and time saving when built = holes in body work as the edge ot the wheel cover gets warn and become sharp and rougher, then rubs through body of MH. Mum and dad's has started and the wheel cover has never been off (so it's not their fault) and MH has only done 3k miles.

Mine nearly has a hole and only done 8k (I'm the second owner)

So as a make shift fix, I put the garilla tape on

Now I've ordered the edging from dad šŸ˜Š, nylon string to hold cover on, double sided edging to protect van from the cover as the cover is cheaper than a new back of the van

Hope this helps people and will post more things when I do more miles and more things break šŸ¤£

Attachments

• 20210503_100144.jpg
    20210503_100144.jpg
    450.1 KB · Views: 251
  • 20210503_100206.jpg
    20210503_100206.jpg
    710.6 KB · Views: 232
  • 20210503_100243.jpg