Free Member
Apr 24, 2015
Sittingbourne
Funster No
MH
Auto trail scout
Exp
I'm a newbie
hi everyone I am picking up my new motorhome up in 2 weeks from freeborn motor homes in Southampton .they will be running me through everything at hand over but what should I be asking about as I have never owned a MH before or even been camping since I was a child they are booking us in too sandy balls site for 2 nights so if there are any problems they are in the door step to help out

Jan 25, 2013
Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Funster No
MH
Sad former owner
Exp
Since 1991
Don't let them assume you know anything. If in doubt or are unsure of what they are telling you, keep asking until you are entirely happy. After all, make them earn their sale!

Some ideas:-

On/off for gas, van power, heating and hot water controls for using on and off hook up. Lighting/using the fridge on 12v/240v/gas.
Water filling
Gas bottles - butane or propane (I'd always have propane as you can use the van in colder weather more reliably!)
Making up the bed - how does the cushion jig saw actually work. See them do it, put it back and then do it yourself. It's better to do it now rather than when you need the bed and can't find the instructions!
Toilet cassette - how does it come out? What chemicals to use and how much? Water for flushing - separate tank or from the main water tank?
Connecting the electric hook up (EHU) to the van and the power point. What sequence is it done in so that the lead is NEVER live if not connected to the van.(Connect van to power, disconnect power then van).

I'm sure some other Funsters will drop their pearls of wisdom your way - they are an amazing bunch of MH fanatics!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Easyliving

Free Member
Dec 4, 2012
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2011
Hi