What second hand camper should I get?!? (1 Viewer)

VANpelt

Free Member
Nov 9, 2020
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, I'm looking to buy my first van. I've saved up for a budget of 3-4k for the van. I'm happy to spend some more doing it up but generally want to buy something I'm only going to have to change the cosmetics on, I don't have the ability to add bedding/change layout etc.

I've been spending a lot of time on ebay looking at vans that seem to be going for around 2.5-3.5k - they generally seem to be late 1980s/1990s VWs or Talbot vans. I really don't know anything as I am completely new to this and know no one living the van life...

I guess my main question is which vans are the most worth it and will actually last? I want to travel a lot in it and potentially live in it in my final year at university! It's going to cost me most my savings from the last few years so its an all or nothing situation (if it is terrible I'm screwed).

Any help appreciated - thanks!!!

Sep 12, 2014
Merseyside
Funster No
MH
Transit coachbuilt
Exp
8years & counting
Had a look on Gumtree and in Scotland there are a couple of vans in your price range but they all seem to need some sort of work.
Here is one for example.
That looks very tidy

Upvote 0
Apr 8, 2016
Northumberland
Funster No
MH
PVC conversion
Exp
30+ years