What is the best way to tow a manual smart car - 2015 - 2017 model (1 Viewer)

Aug 13, 2021
North west
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Hi all,

We are looking for advice on the best way to tow a smart for two car on the back of our motorhome. Also where to buy the necessary parts from please.

We don’t really want a trailer, we are thinking A frame or towing dolly. It looks like if you have an A frame then you need a specific part to attach to the car which is sold separately and we can only find one suitable for a Smart car up to 2012.

Any advice or tips gratefully received thank you.

Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
If you're planning on going to the EU with it I'd just get the trailer, costs will be negligible if you can find a used trailer because when you're done with it as long as it's still roadworthy you'll probably get most of your money back , you can't A frame in Europe and a towing dolly is only for emergency use so you're likely to get a pull from the UK police if you do that.

IIRC it's £1000+ to get an A frame fitted to a smart car so it's legal to tow in the UK , you'll probably find a used trailer for similar

Nov 4, 2011
Uk
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Towing dolly are not legal, only for breakdown use.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
Hi all,

We are looking for advice on the best way to tow a smart for two car on the back of our motorhome. Also where to buy the necessary parts from please.

We don’t really want a trailer, we are thinking A frame or towing dolly. It looks like if you have an A frame then you need a specific part to attach to the car which is sold separately and we can only find one suitable for a Smart car up to 2012.

Any advice or tips gratefully received thank you.