Well i paid on collection day........... (1 Viewer)

Jul 22, 2013
Altrincham
Funster No
MH
Chausson 718xlb
Exp
I was a newbie
Hi thanks for all your advice about paying up front for our new MH, we paid on collection, although if we hadn't booked a weekend away that day we would of walked away!

There was a snagging list like you cannot believe! From the day i put the deposit down they had a five week window to PDI the vehicle and stick an awning on, from what i saw i reckon Stevie Wonder done the PDI.

Window blinds that did not operate properly, window clips hanging off, dirty marks on the walls, sealant all over the place, chipped paint on the door frame, decals on motorhome ripped and poorly applied, Van exterior cleaned by someone with an aversion to water, missing pads on the kitchen work surface, gaps in the bodywork where i presume sealant is used to marry the panels, plus other bits and bobs that just leave a bit of a sour taste.

After the weekend away, we took it straight back and left them to get it sorted and it has been back with them a week although somethings will have to come from chausson so it will need to go back again!

So far i have had a lot of sorry about this and we will get it sorted and had a free cup of tea, the salesman and the service lady have been great and you can tell they are embarrassed but that doesnt really cut it when it is a 100 mile round trip each time to take it back and pick it up again and it is not over yet.

I have tried to contact the dealer principle so at least he is aware they are sending brand new vans out in this state and am awaiting a reply so will refrain from naming the dealer until i get some sort of response.

Am i being a snowflake, or should i expect more from a respected dealer?

Mick

I understand they have to manage expectations etc with a moving house on a vehicle that things may fail, but these are all basic things

OP
OP
M
Jul 22, 2013
Altrincham
Funster No
MH
Chausson 718xlb
Exp
I was a newbie