Free Member
Mar 25, 2013
Cardiff
Funster No
MH
Just Looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Just joined as the missus and me are thinking of getting a motorhome, still not quite made our minds up yet. As the kids are grown up if we get one it will be for just the two of us.

Probably looking at something around 2003 vintage to start with but have heard some real horror stories about damp etc which is very offputting and seriously starting to make us think twice. It's a lot of money to throw away if we buy a bad one... and what is a bad one...? :Sad:

Taken a liking to the layout of the Swift Sundance 590RS with the 2.3 engine and found a 2003 locally with 55k on the clock for £16k. Private sale though so no warranty. And a few people have told us to avoid Swift as they are one of the worst for suffering with damp ?

All advice and thoughts much appreciated to help us avoid buying something that we'll lose a fortune on. Cars and bikes I'm good with, motorhomes I'm totally new to so am jumping in at the deep end.

Looking forward to your thoughts which will be much appreciated. :thumb:

Last edited:
Mar 26, 2009
Yr Wyddgrug
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL
Exp
Since 2009
:party2::welcome::party2:

Have a look Link Removed for lots of information regarding your proposed purchase.

OP
OP
N

naggedhusband

Free Member
Mar 25, 2013
Cardiff
Funster No
MH
Just Looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
That's useful, thanks for that. :thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

163phil

Free Member
Dec 4, 2012
Kenilworth
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
Still only a year after many years camping
:welcomefunster: Don't be put off by those miserable old gits on the BB forum :Smile:

Get yourself one of these: Link Removed and view the van with a modicum of common sense and I'm sure you'll be fine. :Cool:

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988